Iberica (Glasgow) : Review

in #food6 years ago

IMG_4144

140 St Vincent Street Glasgow G2 5LA

V: 29th November 2017 T: 0141 530 7985 W: www.ibericarestaurants.com

Child Friendly: Yes (Well Behaved) Accepts: Cash & Card


I have had Iberica on my list for a while but I have only ever heard one good thing about it, and that was the food is nice but nothing else. Normally you hear about costs, atmosphere etc so I decided to check it out and see what I thought.

Currently in Glasgow for Spanish my favourite place is Barca, so this is what I was using as my comparison.

On entering the place looks very very nice, and we were greeted and shown to our table.

The atmosphere here is very relaxing and enjoyable, and there is music playing in the background which helps add to that.

We were told its tapas style so 2 or 3 dishes per person was recommended.

If you have never had tapas you need to remember the reason you order a few dishes, is the portion size is smaller and they will just come to the table when they are ready.

The Food…

Fried Chorizo Lollipops £6.00
with Pear alioli sauce

IMG_4159

On arrival this looked interesting...

The lollipops on their own were really good, and the pear alioli sauce just added more amazing flavour to this dish.

I would have this again if I went back but, at £6 I am not really sure its worth the cost maybe £5 would be more acceptable (I know its only £1)

Portion Size : 5
Flavour : 5
Presentation : 5


Chicken Liver Pâté £4.00
Served with quince and toast

IMG_4160

I always have to try the Pate where ever I go, and if you have been reading my blog for a while you know that I always hate that you get more pate than the side to spread it on.

On arrival I was very pleased to see there were 4 slices of toast, and looking at the jar this would be enough so I was very pleased now to taste.

This was very nice pate and very full in flavour, the toast that came with this was very hard and crispy which was very nice.

At £4 this was very good value for money.

Portion Size : 5
Flavour : 5
Presentation : 5


Black Rice £7.00
Squid ink rice and prawns served with alioli sauce

IMG_4162

This caught my eye as I was looking at the menu Black Rice, I have never tried that or seen in person black rice. The squid ink is what would give this colour so I wondered does it also do something to add to the flavour?

On arrived it smelled amazing, and looked interesting so time to taste.

This tasted just like a nice creamy rice dish, and the sauce added that little extra change in flavour. The black ink...well its just a colouring and didn't add to the taste.

Overall this was a good sized dish, and very filling.

Portion Size : 5
Flavour : 5
Presentation : 5


Overall


Iberica Glasgow is a very nice restaurant, and I can see why it was busy tonight. Its a very relaxing place to eat, and the food is very tasty.

For me value for money is just O.K, I feel that if some dishes were maybe £1 or £2 it would be a little better.

My girlfriend ordered some sliders which sounded nice and cost £7, I have ordered sliders before from Barca and you get 2 which combined gives you an O.K sized burger but if you look at the photo below, you can see these are tiny and to be honest Barca's had a better taste and cost less.

IMG_4165

Would I return, to be honest I am not sure as I can get better value for money and slightly bigger portion sizes in other places but the food service and atmosphere was nice...I will need to have a think on this one.

Review Scores –

  • Atmosphere : 4
  • Staff : 5
  • Menu : 5
  • Service : 5
  • The portion sizes & taste : 3.5
  • Value for money: 3.5
  • Overall : 4
Sort:  

Iberica Glasgow looks very fine, Mr. @krismunro,

That Chorizo Lollipops...yummy!!!

They were very nice and very moreish mmm

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://krismunro.wordpress.com/tag/iberica/