Cooking Pancit Bihon For the First Time

in #food5 years ago (edited)

viber_image_2019-09-20_09-12-59.jpg


I love eating!

I'm one of those who label themselves as "food lover", but never the food blogger or vlogger. Though, I've thought of doing mukbang videos, it never materialized. Becoming a "foodie" requires a capital. As of the moment, I can only afford the necessary nourishment, occasional celebratory meals and other sporadic treats.

As much as eating, I enjoy cooking. It was mostly my father who taught me how to cook. I was often the kitchen help when I was in my elementary and high school days. I put a certain ingredient into the pan on his queue while he's the taster.

And ever since I moved to my new apartment, I was able to make meals to my heart's content. I was able to cook my food almost everyday. No more pre-heated, super oily or bland food from some carinderia (filipino eatery), no more expensive meal and I can eat whatever I want because I can cook it or try to make it. (I only eat outside when I have no time to make my food or it's premeditated like payday lunch out.)

Pancit for loooooooooong life!

Last Sunday, I craved for pancit bihon. Because I noticed that the remaining vegetables in our refrigerator are the ingredients of that delicacy, I bought pancit bihon but decided to cook it for packed lunch the following day. Instead of cooking the veggies to partner it with rice, I thought of going to a no-rice-diet for the whole week starting with my cravings.

I've always done the chopping, mincing and dicing of ingredients when I was younger that's why I can remember the ingredients of the dish but how to cook it was the challenge. It's my first time cooking pancit bihon on my own.

Note: I made use of whatever's left in our refrigerator so the amount of the ingredients I cooked isn't exactly measured, so please don't judge. I just guess-timated the amount that'll be enough for myself. And my cellphone camera isn't so good, so please bear with the photos.

Here's how to cook it:

Ingredients:

garlic and onion
carrots
chayote
bihon noodles
pork
cabbage
baguio beans
soy sauce and black pepper

BeFunky-collage.jpg

Instructions:

  1. Prepare all the ingredients. Cut the pork into thin slices. Slice the carrots into Julienne cuts. Chop the cabbage and chayote into precise serving size. Cut the baguio beans diagonally. Mince the garlic and slice the onion. Break bihon noodles. (I personally prefer not to soak my noodles into the water.)

  2. In a pan, saute garlic and onion. Stir fry until slightly red. Add pork and continue to stir fry.

    BeFunky-collage1.jpg

  3. Add the vegetables. Continue to stir fry. Put chayote first, carrots and beans next and cabbage leaves, for last. Add soy sauce and pepper. Add a small amount of water and cover the lid. Let it simmer for a few minutes. Don't forget to taste your seasoning.

  4. Remove the veggies from the heat to avoid being overcooked. (I used to eat this veggies with rice for lunch when I was younger. I often asked my mother or father not to mix it with the bihon to make the pancit unless I'm able to get my share.)

  5. Add water into the pan for the noodles. Taste it to make sure, it's still the right blend. Add salt, or soy sauce if needed. Add the bihon and cook gently. Once the noodles softens, stir until the noodles fully break apart and absorb your seasoning. Continue until the bihon is cooked.

    BeFunky-collage2.jpg

  6. Add back the veggie into the pan and mix well. Serve hot. But in my case, it's for lunch so I packed it carefully. I didn't cover it immediately to let the heat escape to avoid spoiling.

    viber_image_2019-09-20_09-13-03.jpg

    10.jpg

I actually made a cooking mistake!

I immediately added water and lots of it before adding the remaining veggies (chayote first) so I had to remove them from the pan on the first boil. But you know what they say, as long as it tastes good, it ain't a disaster. I may have overcooked my veggies last Monday. Just a little. 😊

I maybe posting my meals starting now but probably a day later or two. Or three or four or a week. So wait for it!

Sort:  

looks good! As you said too, if it tastes good then problem solved