Come dine with me -My Filipino Recipe (Beef Sinigang Soup )

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

How are you? I hope everyone is doing great. Today I wanted to share one of my favorite filipino dish. It's called Beef Sinigang Soup ( Beef Sour Tamarind Soup). You can use pork or shrimp as well if you like it more. Back in the Philippines, my grandma would always cook this for us. Living abroad for almost 8 years, I still and will always miss Filipino foods. Good thing, there is a Filipino store here in the city. So if I'm not busy with taking care of the baby I love cooking Filipino dishes that remind me of home.

sinigang.jpg
Source



Prep time : 15 minutes
Cook time : 2 hour 30 mins
Total Time : 2 hours 45 mins
Yield : 8-10 servings

Ingredients :

4 pounds lean beef steak, thorougly washed
10-12 cups water
medium onion, peeled and diced
3-4 tablespoon fish sauce
2 tomatoes, halves
1/2 pound fresh green beans, rinsed and trimmed
3 eggplants cut into halves, rinsed
1/2 pound okras, heads and ends trimmed
1/2 medium head bok choy, cut into 1 1/2 inch strips
1 package of tamarind soup base
Salt and pepper to taste


Instructions:


  1. Heat oil in a medium pot. Add onion and garlic until browned.
    image

  2. Once they're browned, I then added the tomatoes.
    image

  3. Add beef to pot and saute until browned. Add fish sauce until and saute another 2 minutes.
    image

image

image


4. Pour in water and bring it to a boil in low to medium heat.
image


5. While I was waiting for it to boil, I prepared and cut the vegetables. Then I washed them thoroughly.

Green beans
image


Eggplant
image

image


Okra
image


Bok choy
image


6. Once I was done cutting the vegetables, the water is already boiling. Then let it simmer for 45 minutes to an hour and half or until beef is tender. You can add more water to maintain about 10 cups.
image

20170722_183250.jpg


My husband @sevenstars usually plays piano for me while I'm cooking. It makes me feel relaxed.
20170723_101720.jpg

7. Once meat is tender, add green beans. Continue to cook about 2-3 minutes.
image


8. Add okra and eggplant and cook for another 2 minutes.
image


9. Then add the soup mix. For me, I used the whole package. Add into pot and stir until completely dissolved. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
image


10. Add bok choy and continue to cook for about 1 minute.
image

And there you go. It's ready. You can eat it with rice. I love rice so I eat mine with it.

20170803_163742.jpg


I hope you guys enjoy it. Till next time :)


~lovely~





Footer_image

Sort:  

That looks really good, and now that fall is fast approaching, that means it time for more soup for dinner and oatmeal for breakfast!!! Nice post.

You're right! Nothing beats nice hot soup on a cool fall day. :) I hope you'll try making this soup for yourself, and if you do let me know how you like it!

Oh my, lean beef... so healthy you are... The best protein with sinigang and i'm sure you will agree with me is when you use pork belly. Mmmm.... but we have to look after our health and sexiness, so thumbs up.....

hehe. my husband and I we both love beef that's why. But I love pork belly tooo. 👌

Love it!

Yum yum! It was delicious. Thanks for cooking it for me.

hahahaha. You are always welcome ❤

Perfect mate for steam rice especially during rainy season! Pinch some hot pepper... wow! Sarap! Ginutom ako!

Yes 😍 tama. Kain tayo :)

This post has been upvoted by the @teamphilippines curation trail & resteemed by @teamphilippines . Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

ME HUNGRY ME WANT GOOD TASTY COOKING

Wow, That looks really yummy! Your husband must have really inspired your cooking! Sweet! :)

Indeed ❤ i love cooking to live piano music. Yea he's sweet.

looks super delicious @lgfurmanczyk I dont think i've tried beef sinigang before. i like pork or fish or even shrimp sinigang.. but never beef. I'm going to definitely try making that soon. Yum! Yum!

yeah you should try it. let me know what you think :)

That looks delicious! Thank you for this recipe!

wow sarap. lalo na kung malamig ang panahon o umuulan. sarap higupin ang sabaw.

looks yummy

I usually use a crock pot or slow cooker for my Beef Sinigang Soup

Same ingredients, Cooks for 8 hrs
Just leave the vegs last

Beef will melt in your mouth 🤤

mmmm I should try that next time :)

That is delicious for sure.

uu girl 😁

Sarap naman neto.

uu ☺ sobrang sarap. Thanks for stopping by @deveerie :)

Walang anuman!

Yummm! that looks really good, Lovely!

thank you for sharing, I'll make this soon ^_-

Keep it up
xoxo

This post received a 4.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @lgfurmanczyk! For more information, click here!

Thank you for sharing

you are welcome :)

quickeasyrecipes.net very nice post

This post has received a 8.80 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lgfurmanczyk.

Thank for your sharing. It make me feel hungry. You are good cooker. I also try to learn how to cook new dish every day. This is my recent post about cooking, hope you enjoy it ^^
https://steemit.com/photography/@blackbunny/lilake-photography-part-one#@songha/re-blackbunny-lilake-photography-part-one-20170803t090209938z

Looks good enough to eat

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lovely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am Groot! :D

hi groot 😄