You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Truth about Genetically Engineered (GMO) Food!!

in #food7 years ago

There is hard evidence that GMOs are dangerous, this is not even to mention the targeted pesticides that are used in GMO agriculture. We must not demand to be hand held to the knowledge we need to survive and be healthy. Personal responsibility is the road to individual liberties, including our health.

Sort:  

I agree that pesticide usage is wrong. I also don't eat GMO's myself. I work in the health industry and try to maintain as organic a diet as possible. I recently had a dental operation and the antibiotics have wrecked havoc on my insides. Which is the exact same feeling I get when I eat out... There is no doubt in my mind that manufactured, high sugar and fat foods do us harm.

However

The author put's it perfectly himself.

“The health consequences of eating genetically modified organisms are largely unknown.”

It sits in the same category as microwaving food. I think we should look to tackle the big killers like high fructose corn syrup and then look to improve fruit and veg quality.

It's important that people know the effects as well as the unknown risks. Which is why I upvoted the post :)

Everyone should eat clean, unprocessed foods. We know this. If they can be mainly organic even better. Health is a spectrum and people feel comfortable at different levels of it. Once 90% of us get to that level of wellness, there will be no market for GMO's

Thanks for your thoughts, all the best harrynewman

There is some proof positive that GMOs are dangerous and doing us harm. There is a Bt corn study that demonstrated that there is genetic transfer from the Bt corn to human intestinal flora that turns the gut bacteria into pesticide factories. I will need to look up the reference, this was years ago.

Glyphosate is an herbicide used on all Round up ready GMOs, and used for harvest of many non-GMOs. It was originally patented and sold as a chelator for cleaning boilers. Then it was re-patented as a broad spectrum antibiotic. This may be the issue you have with eating out. Finally it has been re-patented as a herbicide which is used on a huge number of our food crops. It's presence in the gut destroys large amounts of beneficial bacteria that we need to make proper use of our food.

The 'unknown' aspect of the health impacts of GMOs is deliberate, and comes about from patent protection. The studies are simply not legally allowed.

I will put together a post detailing much of this so that only five people will read it. Much of this I have already detailed in a few posts about glyphosate.

Thank you for your comments.

It looks like you know of some credible sources... Followed to learn more.

I have no love for GMO's but when other aspects of a healthy diet are so... Lacking in people lives. GMO's surely couldn't cause the same harm that sugar and high fat foods are known to cause. Obesity and heart disease kill so many people every year. We need to put down the chocolate and frenchfries, before we ask if they are GMO.

The main sources of fat to be aware of are usually damaged (oxidized) vegetable fats, and grain fed animal fats, which are also riddled with other contaminants. The main focus is for a healthily raised source of fat that is used in a healthy omega-6 to omega-3 ratio, which also varies from person to person. Usually I find a 1:1 to a 4:1 ratio as healthy. I've seen as low as 0.7:1 listed as the diet of hunter gatherers all the way to the standard American diet listed at 40:1. Too many omega-6s causes increased inflammation. Chronic inflammation is at the root of everything from Alzheimer’s, to cancer, diabetes, obesity, and heart disease. Autoimmune disorders are also aggravated by excess inflammation.

There are so many problems with sugar it's hard to know where to start. It's probably best to say just avoid it. I get all the sugar I need from the vegetable carbohydrates that I eat, sweet potatoes and the like.

The main issue with GMOs, other than the heavy pesticide use, that I see is they are a long term unknown. We don't know what they will do over the course of fifty years of steady consumption. We have no proof that it will cause long term harm, but since when is that a good enough reason to eat something that is unknown in the natural world without testing it? The precautionary principle is a wise thing to apply when dealing with our food.

I have competed in menss physique competitions. The last 3 weeks before I got on stage my 6 to 3 ratio was 0.8:1... I felt amazing.

However I think it's worth noting that if we want to improve societies health, we need to start with the big picture. Change the way people look at food and physical activity. Inform them of the known dangerous foods (sugars and animal fats) and encourage improvement there, before turning to unknown risks.

But I definitely agree, the unknown is scary and people should know any and all the risks. We don't want to repeat the transfat/high fructose corn syrup debacle.

You and I know the dangers of GMO's, and it sounds to me like you partake in a healthy, balanced diet. We aren't the ones who need to be informed about healthy eating.

I suppose the fastest way I could put it, would be that I would recommend GMO veg and fruit over a high fat and sugar diet...

If you are eating GMO fruit and veg and would like a more well known, safer option, I'd recommend swapping to organic and so on. I just felt this post was scaring people when there are just as many confirmed deadly foods in their fridges, cupboards and drive throughs.

I appreciate your comments and insight. It's good to get another point of view.