An Overdue Update

in #food2 years ago

Hello everyone,

If anyone has been wondering where I've been for the last 3 years since my last post, I have mainly stayed involved with Hive (Formerly known as Steemit) through a Discord named PAL (@minnowsupport). In the PAL discord I do a broadcast every Sunday through MSP Waves (@msp-waves) where I talk about Food, Tech and Media. I also use the broadcast as a way to share my experiences as an entrepreneur, share/discuss ideas, and incubate more experiments to try out. So, even though I have not been posting, I've still been interacting with a hand full of you on a consistent basis.

Besides doing the Lazy Sundaze Broadcast every Sunday evening - I have started two businesses and have been uploading an audio diary series called 'Learning to be a Food Entrepreneur' to a platform named anchor. In this post I'm going to give you an update on each of these.

Side note: Last year, I made a small garden update post in the Blessed Lettuce community that @juliakponsford made. That post can be seen HERE.

Businesses


In 2016/2017 I planned to start three businesses. One business for Food, one for Technology and one for Media. I've aspired to do so primarily because those areas are where my interests and talents lie. I've started two of them so far - one is named TeriGrowth, LLC and the other is named Bite Innovation, LLC.

TeriGrowth


Terigrowth focuses on Technology and IT. Currently TeriGrowth manages websites while building tools that help us automate tasks. For example, we've automated analyzing our financial statements which helps us keep an eye on our income, expenses, net profit, etc. We've also created a discord bot that we've been trying to figure out practical uses for - like turning a server on or restarting it. TeriGrowth has been building and managing websites since the summer of 2019 to gain the funding we would need for future projects. On top of this TeriGrowth has filed for a Trademark in August 2021! (How exciting)

Bite Innovation


Bite Innovation focuses on Food. This is where the majority of my experience lies - I went to school for Food Science, interned at a food company, and was at a local food center in Missouri (something I talk about at length in the 'Learning to be a Food Entrepreneur' podcast on Anchor). Years ago, I had a neat idea of selling food for crypto. I realized that I should probably learn how to grow food so I could apply my Food Science knowledge and make food products with what I harvested. The closet garden from my post HERE, and food experiments from previous posts were also precursors for this. What I decided to do was focus on building a food business using USD, and test it's feasibility before trying to offer food and food products for cryptocurrencies. At the end of the day my goal with this food business is to attempt to build sustainable food systems and sustainable food products.

Currently, Bite Innovation manages a greenhouse for revenue, and that revenue is being used to develop its first food product (which I believe will be packaged dried herbs). Bite Innovation also did a pilot test this year of selling boxed produce direct to consumer. This produce box was named 'Mack Fresh', and that name came from @soundwavesphoton during a Lazy Sundaze broadcast. The pilot was done using 100sqft of my own gardening space and a partnership with a local farmer to fulfill orders. The pilot went well enough for me to expand the amount of space I will be using next year from 100sqft to 1700sqft. My biggest concern is getting all the sprouts! Below are some photos of Mack Fresh Boxes and a small part of the green house.

MackFresh Summer.jpg

MackFresh Spring.jpg

GreenHouse Inside.jpg

Learning to be a Food Entrepreneur


Learning to be a Food Entrepreneur is a podcast I started uploading to Anchor back in 2019. It now has one complete 'season', a season 2 with one episode uploaded, and 328 total plays. The first season of the podcast hones in what I was doing to try to stay busy and my plans in 2017 to reach my goals. I think this format is interesting because I revisit the audio recordings and add some written ideas in hindsight. I talk about things I wish I had known or things I could have done differently. The second season focuses on my time spent in Mansfield Missouri at a local food center and what I was working on there. I've kind of been slacking on the second season because I uploaded the first episode five and a half months ago but have not uploaded any of the other episodes yet. If you are interested, and want to check out the Learning to be a Food Entrepreneur you can find it on Spotify, Anchor, Apple Podcasts, and a few other places as well.

Conclusion


And that's it! This is where a significant amount of my time has gone over the past few years. If you need to reach me you can through [email protected] or [email protected]. I'm not sure when my next post will be, but I hope it will be jam packed with information you will enjoy reading about.

This post was sponsored by @r0nd0n and @juliakponsford. They gave me some Hive Punks @punksonhive @blockheadgames

Sort:  

Glad to see you finally posting. See you live on the waves in a bit McG.

untitled.gif

Congratulations @mckenziegary! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18