Being a Beginner / Newbie at a Hobby

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-04-16 at 19.35.06.png

I only recently started to make pancakes. The first time I made them it started a bit disasterous in that I would either be too early in flopping them and batter would get everywhere or I'd be too late and one side would get burnt. I became easily discouraged and truly believed I could not make pancakes right.

At that time I wasn't aware that making pancakes was a NEW ACTIVITY for me - and that it's normal to be like a student or a beginner of learning something new. Though at that time seeing the failed attempts I made at pancakes I wanted to give up.

Yet since I still had batter in the bowl I decided to use the last remains as practice to see if I could get better. I started to develop my own technique that determined when pancakes were ready to be flipped and over time through practice I got better and developed confidence towards making them.

As I made pancakes tonight for @nebi 's cousins, I reminisced about my original experience of making them and how easily discouraged I was about not being perfect at something new (and wanted to give up). But as I persisted in trial and error and observation a new form of faith emerged in me where I realized I CAN learn new things and develop the skills if I persist, practice and find my unique way through it.