Rice Puff Squares, healthy and delicious substitute for 'Snickers'.

in #food6 years ago

While trying to stay healthy and get all needed micronutrients the hardest part for me is to stay away from sweets. I think most of you can relate. Fortunately, there are some alternatives for my beloved ‘Snickers’. This dessert is super easy to make and it’s ultimately delicious.

Makes 9 squares:

3 cups of plain puffed rice;
1/2 cup of peanut butter;
1/4 cup of refined coconut oil;
1/3 cup of honey;

Put peanut butter, coconut oil and honey in a pot. Let the ingredients melt over low heat. When mass starts bubbling, turn off the heat and mix in rice puffs. Pour the mass into a form and press it (it should be about 2cm thick). Let it sit in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Then, remove the treat from the form and cut it into squares.

P70821-113050.jpg

Some notes:

  • Add more rice puffs for crunchier treats, reduce for softer.
  • For vegan version use agave syrup or corn syrup. Or what you like. :)
  • I pour the thing into a square plastic lunch box (that is why I called them squares haha) but you can pour it into anything you have or like: lunch box, baking pan or cupcake molds.
  • Though the treats come off my lunch box’s walls pretty easy when I turn it over, you might want to line in some parchment paper.
  • This tastes quite similar to ‘Snickers’.
  • Dip the squares in chocolate for full experience. I tried to save some calories. :)
  • I think unrefined coconut oil would make the experience even better.

Enjoy and do not eat all of it at once!

Sort:  

Sounds awesome, I am inspired to make this!

It's super easy, too!