Turkey meatballs: Quick, Easy and Healthy

in #food6 years ago

Since my last recipe got comments being irrelevant in winter, I have something just right for cold winter days when you really appreciate comfort food. Pasta with meatballs is a really warming classics. I do not have any bad words about traditional recipe but as I try to be healthy, I decided to adjust some things. I go for ground turkey and baked meatballs.

Some time I may just upload how to make a healthy meatballs sauce from a scratch but this time I want to suggest a quick fix for a heart warming dinner.

For 2 portions of meatballs you will need:

300g of ground turkey;
½ of small onion, chopped;
2 cloves of garlic, minced;
1 small egg;
A pinch of dried basil;
Salt and pepper to taste;
1 cup of red pasta sauce;

Combine all ingredients except for pasta sauce. Mix well and make balls with your hands. Place in a baking tray lined with baking paper. Cook for 10 minutes in a 180C oven.
Pour pasta sauce into a skillet and bring to a slow simmer, add baked meatballs. Let it simmer for 10 minutes or until cooked through. Add extra spices if you like (it really depends on a sauce though).
I served with tagliatelle pasta and fresh spring onions. Though, a bit of grated parmesan would fit too.

Bake some meatballs and keep in fridge for an even quicker meal!

P70801-140916.jpg

Enjoy!