Double E Blessed Homestead & Beefarm's World Famous Camp Hashbrowns!

in #food6 years ago

This is the go to breakfast recipe for us when we are out camping. I stumbled on it one year during sukkot. We were tired of eggs and had a few things still in the cooler so I went to work.
Ingredient list:

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 package of beef bacon ( I have used skinless beef sausage also)
  • 5 or 6 medium yellow potatoes
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 garlic (optional)
  • salt and pepper

You can add or subtract to this recipe. I have added fresh squash from the garden, fresh hot or mild peppers, fresh okra...your imagination is the limit! Ive even been known to throw a half dozen eggs in at the end.

I start the cast iron on low while the butter is melting. I put half a stick of real butter in each skillet but if you have a big skillet, it works better. I was limited on space so I used two this time. You don't want to burn that butter, just melt it real nice and slow like!



OK, while the butter is slowly melting, gather the onion and potatoes and cut then in hashbrown size cubes. Everybody likes them different so this is up to you. I cut the potato in half lengthwise then each half horizontally again. then you can cut a nice grid and make nice cubes! I keep the onion cut a little bigger so you dont end up with tiny little burnt onions when your done. Mine end up looking like little onion petals.



Throw them potatoes in a bowl and salt them liberally! This will start to draw the moisture out of them allowing them to brown faster.



This is where the magic starts! I just cut the package right in half. No need to fuss with opening it from the top and getting your fingers all messy!



Then, just to make things simpler, I just cut right through the stacks like so. You can make the pieces smaller or bigger here, whatever strikes your fancy! The smaller the pieces, the faster it will crisp up.



Throw them potatoes in the skillet now and crank the heat up to Medium High. These things should be sizzling now! Keep turning them every so often until they are just starting to brown.



Throw the onions and bacon in and keep turning them until either bacon is crisp or potatoes are satisfactorily browned. I don't mind a little really dark potatoes in there or a few pieces of onion that are sauteed well! I just want to get that bacon crisp...If you don't like dark hashbrowns, then throw everything in at the same time and it should turn out well. You can see in this->> picture how the onion pieces are petal shaped and rather large!



This is how I prefer them! You can see a little bit of well done potatoes and onions but nobody in my house seems to mind it! This is by far their favorite breakfast dish!
This year at Sukkot, I had a large 16 inch skillet so I made huge batches so I could share!! I usually throw it all into a paper towel lined bowl to soak up the grease and butter and deliver it to to the watering mouths waiting patiently for it!

Now go empty that fridge and get to browning!




Join me and other homesteaders on discord



Sort:  

Breakfast of champions right there. Anything with bacon gets the nod from me haha. Happy new year and all the best in 2018

Looks yummy! I'll have to give this a go sometime soon.

When you do, drop by and let me know how it turned out!!

That's my kind of cookin'! Nice blog! Following!

@schoonercreek will be talking about some things we might have in common!

followed! Thanks for taking the time to drop by!

@mnmleger... considering that one of my favorite things to do is go camping, this is definitely something I will try. My husband will love the fact that I have a new recipe. 😋

It’s so easy and the sound of it all sizzling!!!

That does look tasty - I love bacon.

I wish we were able to get beef bacon in our part of the country, we will have to use turkey bacon. I think next year I am going to attempt to make some deer/beef bacon.

I was just about to say...You actually grow your own bacon!!!

That looks good, but what a BUTTER BOMB. A stick of butter and a pound of beef fat... whoah nelley look out belly here it comes... the butter bomb booom! Bring it on! Thanks for the recipe! We may need to get a skillet and get frying. @ironshield

yeah, I didn't mention you have to jog in place while preparing ans eating it! haha

Looks good. I have never tried beef bacon. Is it flavored the same way pork bacon is?

Its the closest thing to pork bacon!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #6 (3/1/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Saweeeet! Thak you!!!

Looks real good and has made me so hungry, just starting to cook my lunch now and this has motivated me to mix it up a little :)

What a poor place this world would have been without cast iron cookware!

I very much agree!!!!