Cauliflower ‘Mac and Cheese’ recipe for 4

in #food7 years ago (edited)


Ingredients : 

1 head of cauliflower, cut into bite-sized florets

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 cup baby carrots

1/2 cup raw  cashews

2 T nutrional yeast

2 T yellow mustard

1 t paprika`

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t onion powder 

1 T chopped scallions, plus more for garnish

1 t sea salt

Instructions : 

1. Begin by bringing 2 cups of water to a low boil in a medium-sized pot. Add cauliflower florets and boil 10 minutes, covered, to tenderize. Drain and set aside.

2.While the cauliflower steams, combine cashews and carrots in a separate small pot with enough water to cover. bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer. Cover and simmer for 10-12 min or until carrots are softs.

3. Drain carrots and cashews. Place into a blender with almond milk, nutritional yeast, mustard, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and sea salt. Blend until smooth and creamy.


Upvote, resteem, comment and /or follow if you like it !!

source : freshandfit.org

Sort:  

Inspirational!!!

Thank you for sharing... a great healthy alternative to a favourite dish...
I wonder how it would go being baked? :)
Thanks for sharing!
Speaking of being healthy
Can I suggest you check out my experience with vitamin D, I think you will find it interesting and probably know people it could help

yes, i do. Thank you.

Love traditional Baked Cauliflower in creamy cheezy sauce...

Maybe next week end, I will try you recipe but bake it... I might make the sauce a little runny for baking but keep some of the cheezy sauce for browning on top, I assume it would brown up in the oven?
Only 1 way to find out... it is cauliflower season here in Australia :)

let me know how it is baked.

Very nice :) upvoted and followd.
Why don't you check my last post about food and best burgers in the world?

https://steemit.com/food/@notonlyfood/try-to-find-a-better-one-sciue-il-panino-vesuviano-2

I hope you will leave a vote

follow you in return, i will !!

Looks delicious and a healthier alternative then the regular KD!

Very cool... I want it :)