Unusual Edible Flowers That Are Often Admired But Also Overlooked.

in #food6 years ago


(image credit: firstcomeflowers.typepab.com)

It occurred to me today walking around in the bleak winter winds how much I miss the vibrancy and color of the warmer seasons. During the milder months in Britain I spend a great deal of time hiking, fishing, beach camping, and above all foraging for food. It's not always wild plants though and on many occasions I will accost my beautiful flowers in my garden taking the most colorful and tasty to add small bits of brightness to what normally would be mundane salads and light dishes. So I figured I'd write a post on things we often admire but normally wouldn't know we can eat.

Fuschia

(image credit: helloplants.com)
Now I love this little fellow as it's a pleasure to sit and watch the bees bounce in and out of when having coffee in the mornings. But I also love it because....well, it's a delight to use in salads. The blooms are edible and add an amazing color to any dish and the berries it produces have a flavor very close to a peppery water chestnut. All in all it's an amazing plant to have around.

Calendula

(image credit: edennaturallivingboutique)
I have heard this beautiful plant called "poor mans saffron" and I tend to agree. It is reputed to have many beneficial qualities in regards to healthy skin, but I like it for adding that tell tale color to curry dishes. In salads it packs a peppery punch that is altogether sharp and fragrant. Oh, and a lot of garden pest insects hate it so it's an all round winner in my book.

Daylilly

(image credit: gardeningknowhow.com)
I really like this beautiful little guy. It is important to remember that you have some toxic varieties of Lilly so always use caution before consuming. If you remove the bitter bit at the base of the bloom the flavor is quite strong and almost like brussel sprouts and asparagus combined. I use mine by covering them in olive oil and salt and popping them on top of my bamboo steamer for only about ten seconds. They retain their color and shape for the most part and when centered around a meat dish add a certain flair. It's fun stuff to play with. Just be cautious and make sure you're harvesting a daylilly bloom. Mother nature is no fan of error.

Viola

image credit: thespruce.com
Now this flower is amazing when reduced down into a sugary syrup and added to everything from ice cream to prosecco. It retains its flavor through out most culinary processes and can be a delight to just look at. I discovered the many uses for this bloom when holidaying in Southern France about 8 years ago and believe me, recipe books can be written in regards to its many many many culinary uses.

Clover

(image credit: Johnysseeds.com)
Now many view this fellow as a weed rather than a bloom but I disagree. I don't really use pesticides when I garden, much less weed killers. I tend to find uses for most things that grow and the little clover bloom is not spared in this. The blooms have a flavor that is very close to cucumber and can bring that unique fresh/sweet flavor that reminds your palate that summer has finally arrived. Chuck it on a salad, use it as garnish, take your pick. There are many uses for this amazing bloom so you can be as creative as you like.

Well fellow Steemers, that's about it for now. Remember when harvesting any plant check that you have the right species before consuming. Harm can't stand the presence of it's hated neighbor caution, so use lots of it. Thank you so much for reading and Steem on.

Sort:  

Very nice Cat! I'm dreaming about summer already :)

Same!! Just posted about dreaming of summer haha!

Easy to do. Checked out your blog and as you seem to be a bit of a plant enthusiast. I am much the same. If you scroll down my blog a ways you'll find an old post that is a short guide to wild plants in the UK. I grew up partly in the south of the states (by the species of pine in your post it looks like that region) and the UK and have always loved the different types of plants that grow in both countries. Figured I'd suggest it as it's always fun to learn. The post is old so don't vote it, but mayhaps you'll find the content interesting. Best of luck on Steemit. :)

Thanks and yes I love plants :) I'll check out your post. The pine you see is in upstate NY, so not quite the South, but not New England north!

A lovely post, particularly on a cold Winter night such as this. I love eating and using edible flowers in my food. And I certainly love, at a time like this, planning out what flowers I'll be trying out soon on window ledges as I dream about Spring.

I took a hike today with another Steemer and my little cousin and it was all icy winds and monochrome clouds which was more than enough to make me wish for the smell and color of spring. In short, I couldn't agree with you more. Thank you so much for reading and Steem on. :)

Mmmm, asparagus crossed with Brussels sprouts. Sounds like my kind of plant!

Wow nature just explodes with colour for all to enjoy. Some great shots.

I notice they are serving more on plates at restaurants and things these days, I just haven't started munching them myself at home yet - will experiment a little more. Cheers