Sweet Potato, Kale + Feta MuffinTuesday

in #food7 years ago

This week I went SAVORY for MuffinTuesday with one of my favorite savory recipes which combines sweet potato, kale, and feta! I know it’s not your typical muffin, and apparently I’ve been told I need to warn people of that too. I suppose it can be quite a shock otherwise when people bite into a muffin they expect to be a little sweet and find it’s not at all.

20170725_121113.jpg

As far as muffins go, this has to be one my more healthy ones: no added sugar (just a little sweetness from the sweet potatoes), no added oil/fat, and full of veggies and protein (eggs and greek yogurt). You could even it as a meal if you wanted!

Fotor_150101042554453.jpg

As I’m writing this and looking back on the recipe ( https://iquitsugar.com/recipe/sweet-potato-kale-feta-muffins/ ), it turns out that it is DOES call for oil… I just forgot. That explains why the batter was too dry! I figured it was because my eggs were on the small size (I get thembulk from the co-op) and added an extra egg instead.

RECIPE TIP: I microwaved the sweet potato on high for 8 minutes (will vary depending on the size) and used a potato masher instead of a blender to "puree" it. It's not as smooth but that's how I like it!

MINI MUFFIN TIP: Cut the baking time in half and add a couple minutes. Of course, check on your muffins and add more time if needed.

Sort:  

That looks amazing! They would be great for breakfast too. I can imagine trying this with added crumbled sausage. Of course, I'm not a muffin expert, but they look pretty versatile.

That's a great idea, then it would be the breafast trifecta (or quafecta technically)!

can't wait to try these!

Ohhhhh my goodness I want to taste these!!!