The Best Restaurant in the World: Black Beach in Ubud, Bali

in #food6 years ago

Hey steemers! Here's a new contender for The Best Restaurant in the World. If you missed the last one, you can find it here: https://steemit.com/life/@page-traveler/the-best-restaurant-in-the-world-warung-pondok-madu-in-ubud-bali

This week's challenger is an Italian restaurant that specializes in woodfired pizzas. It's been featured in Lonely Planet, and has a long history in Ubud. I went to Black Beach three years ago when I was in Bali for my honeymoon, and I was very impressed. How will this visit go?

DSC07248.JPG

I didn't get any pictures of the food this time. Sorry!

Our visit started on a little bit of a sour note, as they didn't have several beers listed on the menu. Oh well, Bintang for my husband and a fresh mango juice for me it was. I was really looking forward to the pizzas. I loved Malaysia, but cheese is pretty rare there, and I am a big fan. Also, I was really hungry!

When the pizzas came, they were...not bad? I had a rucola, tomato, and Parmesan pizza. It was tasty, though the crust wasn't strong enough to support the pizza, so I had to use a knife and fork, and the tomatoes weren't tasty. They were underripe or something, and if you're going to put raw tomatoes on a pizza, they had better be really good. The crust itself was underwhelming - kind of like a cracker rather than a real pizza crust.

Overall, I did enjoy the meal. I've had far worse pizzas! However, I've also had far better ones. Black Beach just wasn't as good as I remembered, and that was a real disappointment. I wouldn't go back.

To sum up:
Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
To go or not to go: No need to avoid it like the plague, but I wouldn't bother.
Price: $$
Global rank at time of review: #6

The Best Restaurant in the World

  1. Bee Hoon Stall at Good Corner in Penang, Malaysia
  2. Warung Pondok Madu in Ubud, Bali
  3. Kirishima Japanese Restaurant in Penang, Malaysia
  4. Warung Amphibia in Sanur, Bali
  5. 1885 in Penang Malaysia
  6. Black Beach in Ubud, Bali

Well, there you have it, folks – we have a new last place! Tune in next time for a stronger contender – I hope!

Sort:  

Congratulations @page-traveler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @page-traveler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!