Healthy Vegan Breaded "Chicken Wings"

in #food6 years ago

Super healthy cauliflower wings as a substitution of chicken wings

One of my favourite veggies is cauliflower because it can be used as a great healthy substitute for many ingredients. It can be used for making pizza crust, tacos, it can substitude rice or even chicken. It has no strong flavour, so it can absorb any kind of flavour we add to it. It is a real superstar ⭐

In this recipe, I'll show you how to make healthy, vegan "chicken wings" using cauliflower instead of chicken and chickpea flour instead of wheat flour. It is sooo yummy and easy to make 😍 Perfect as a snack or as an entire meal.

image

Ingredients:
1 large head of cauliflower cut into florets
1 1/2 cup chickpea flour
1 cup water
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground paprika
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp salt
Pinch of ground pepper

Preheat oven to 200 Celsius. Whisk together all the ingredients except the cauliflower florets. You will get a thick batter, then add the cauliflower and make sure they are coated everywhere.
Bake them for 30-40 minutes, or until golden brown.

You will get incredibly tast cauliflower florets that are soft inside and are coated in a crunchy chickpea blanket from the outside. You can serve them with any kind of dip or sauce. I served it with home made vegan tzatziki.

Sort:  

What does the flavor come off as? Any recommendations for a stronger seasoning that would work well with the paprika and cauliflower?

Good point, thanks for asking. The seasonings and smoked paprika give a great taste to it, but I usually don't season it too much, because I eat it with dips which are very rich of flavours. It can be either buffalo sauce, hot sauce, BBQ sauce, etc. This time I ate it with vegan tzatziki :)

I am not a vegan but some days I can go without meat. I am always looking for new ways to create healthy meals in my household. I am super happy you posted this! Now I have a meal tomorrow for meatless mondays!

So glad to hear that! Let me know how you liked it after you made it :)

Simply fantastic. I will try this definitely! About the chickpea flower, you buy this or you prep this yourself?

I'm glad you like the recipe :) I usually prepare it myself. I just simply put the dry chickpeas into the blender and blend it until it's finely ground. It usually takes just a few seconds, depending on the strength of your blender. Be aware, that it's gonna be extremely loud :D

Putting dry chickpeas into your blender? The blades would suffer greatly. How does your blender cope with that? :-O