You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scottish Shortbread: If you Like the Flavour of Butter you will LOVE these!

in #food7 years ago

It was basically just a very messy ordeal. I made one giant cookie (pictures here), with half of the dough spread on a baking sheet. Then I smeared the almond paste (mixed with half an egg) on it and spread it as best I could, then I spread the other half of the dough over it.

There must be a better way, but hey, it was my own creation (before I knew everyone an their mother apparently make this), so I tried something :D

Sort:  

Toasted almond paste is delicious and yours looked good. Can I recommend you do it next time in a round tin to contain it? That is how traditional Scottish Shortbread is made, to contain it because it has no liquid element to hold it. My thin biscuits will not spread much because they are so thin and the dough well chilled before use. Coconut oil is more liquid than butter, not a problem in itself if it is contained. I bet it tasted delicious. X

That is a great suggestion and I will definitely remember it for the next time. Thank you very much for the tip!

Somehow posted this second pps to myself instead of you. Dooh! PPs. Just come to mind, check out the recipe for Simnel Cake, an Easter fruit cake in Britain. They put a disc of raw almond paste half way up the raw batter, then finish filling the tin. Once baked you get a distinct yellow almond paste line running through the centre of the cake and it really is delicious. X

Ooh wow, that does look delicious! I'd never heard of this cake before.

That's my trouble, I have a huge repertoire of dishes, too many to narrow my interests. Hey ho, such is life. X

Ps. I have thousands of recipes and experiences...being a 'wrinkly'; I have never come across your recipe before. They are pulling your strings! X

Ooh, I feel better now! :D