🍜RECIPE: Chicken Matzo Ball Soup🍜

in #food4 years ago

No such thing as too much kimchi 1.png

I know I've been super quiet, but I am cycling through periods of depression, happiness, boredom and plain craziness. And also trying out loads of new recipes. That's been fun, I put some music on and play in the kitchen for hours.

Today I want to share with you this amazing and super easy recipe I found on the New York Times Youtube channel. I actually could not believe how simple it was to make, it tasted much more fancy than I expected

WhatsApp Image 20200429 at 19.46.59.jpeg

Can we take a moment to appreciate this crystal clear broth?

This soup is light and fragrant, and the matzo balls are so fluffy and airy, it's just to die for! It is comfort food that doesn't make you feel like you've eaten all the bread in the land

It is one of those recipes which can be made over two days, which for foodies in quarantine, is the ultimate joy ;)

Let's get cooking!

INGREDIENTS

FOR THE BROTH:

  • 1 (1,5 - 2kg) chicken, cut into 8 pieces, or 1,5 - 2kg bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces
  • 2 large white onions, unpeeled, quartered
  • 2 garlic heads, unpeeled, halved crosswise
  • 4 celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • Kosher salt

FOR THE MATZO BALLS AND ASSEMBLY:

  • 1 cup matzo meal (not matzo ball mix), or 1 cup finely ground matzo boards
  • ¼ cup finely chopped chives
  • 1 ¾ teaspoons kosher salt, plus more to taste
  • 5 large eggs
  • ⅓ cup chicken fat, grapeseed oil or unsalted butter, melted (I have a method for chicken fat below)
  • ¼ cup soda water or sparkling water
  • 3 to 4 celery stalks, thinly sliced on a bias, plus any leaves
  • ½ cup chopped dill leaves
  • Freshly ground black pepper

WhatsApp Image 20200429 at 19.46.57 1.jpeg

METHOD

To make the broth: Add the chicken, onions, garlic, celery and carrots to a large pot. Add 3 liters of water to cover - I had to do this in two pots as I didn't have one large enough.

Bring the pot to a rolling simmer, and then reduce to medium low so that the pot is on a very gentle simmer

Simmer, uncovered, until the broth has a good flavour, which will be for one to two hours - I did mine for two hours.

Remove the chicken pieces that you would eat, ie any meat, and set aside. We don't actually use the chicken in the soup (you can if you like) but it does make for a great sandwich filling when combined with a little mayonnaise and chives.

Strain the broth through a sieve and return the liquid to the pot

Ensure that the broth is well seasoned with salt and pepper, it should now taste the way you would like it to taste when eating.

WhatsApp Image 20200429 at 19.46.58 1.jpeg

HOT TIP
You can now either keep the broth warm if you plan to eat it on the same day, OR (and I do recommend this) close the soup in a container in the fridge over night. By doing this, a thick layer of chicken fat will form and you can simply scoop it off to use in the matzo balls. thank me later

To prepare matzo balls

In a large bowl mix matzo meal, chives and 1 3/4 teaspoons kosher salt. Using a fork, mix in the eggs until well blended. Now, add your fat of choice (trust me the chicken fat is the way forward. Next best thing is butter) Now mix in the soda or sparkling water and mix until the mixture is smooth and without lumps.

Cover with cling wrap and put in the fridge until your mix is firm and fully hydrated, at least 2 hours (and up to 24 hours). (I left mine overnight)

WhatsApp Image 20200429 at 19.46.58.jpeg

To Cook:

Salt a large pot of water and bring to boil. Roll the matzo ball mix into small balls (about 3cm diameter or 1 and a 1/4-inch), placing them on a plate until all the mixture is rolled. This should make 25 matzo balls.

Drop the matzo balls to the boiling water and cook until they float. They should puff up a bit and be cooked through. This should take ten to fifteen minutes.

You can always cut one in half to test.

The matzo balls should be all similar in colour. Ensure that the balls are not dense in the middle, they should be cooked through and fluffy

To Serve:

Add the matzo balls to the heated chicken broth with a slotted spoon. This is where you can add the celery, dill and some chicken meat if you like, but I chose to only add a little chopped celery leaves and carrot rounds.

Enjoy!

WhatsApp Image 20200429 at 19.46.56.jpeg

Don't be intimidated by the long cooking process, it can be cut down to two and a half hours if you like. This is a simple and utterly delicious recipe and I have added it my favourites folder in my recipe book!

WhatsApp Image 20200429 at 19.46.55.jpeg

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜

footer.png

Sort:  

You haven't been posting a whole lot...

Well it's good to see you back here!

Hope you're well -

And those pictures/recipe look outstanding, my shutdown diet has been more on the dull side :D

thank you! I am one of those people who just cannot do nothing, so I have actually been super busy, making fermentations, pickles, soups etc and a whole bunch of other stuff!

Wow That looks seriously good.

The problem I see is 2.5 hours or more cook time. I cook some dishes slow but I have to plan my eating to go with it. Most usually I don't start cooking until I'm hungry. At 2.5 hours I might eat Sam before it's ready

It's really good to see the best foodie in the game back in the game!

haha, you make me laugh 🤣 that's why you've always gotta have steaming hot tea and something to do while cooking these meals. they're the side attraction, and the meal itself is the main attraction :) You've gotta think of it as an activity, not a meal.

Thanks TOm xx

Yum! Everyone is cooking more during lockdown!:D This looks tasty <3

Yeah, it's something to do hehe, and I'm also on a mission to use everything in my cupboard. You will be surprised to note that I have not gained weight, nor lost any. possibly the quarantine eating has stymied any quarantine exercise loss. LOL.

Lol! Good that there’s a balance :’)

That looks so good. I could use some of that right now.

Congratulations @princessmewmew!

Your post was featured on our daily build newsletter. We've sent 250 liquid BUILD tokens from our @build-it.funds account to your wallet upon which you can sell, trade or buy on Hive engine.

Build-it is a DIY (do it yourself) platform where you can find tons of how-to's, ideas, and advice to create or build something all by yourself. The platform leverages a robust digital token, called the BUILD. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please subscribe to our HIVE community here and earn extra 'HIVE' tokens.

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram.

Follow @build-it.daily for more updates!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Happy to see you about @princessmewmew and hope you are well. I hope your bit of the world is okay with all that is going on. 2020 is quite a doozy thus far, non?