***KOPI LUWAK*** The world's Most Expensive Coffee!

in #food7 years ago

Hello my Steemit friends!

Welcome back to @progressivechef page! I hope everyone is having a great start of the weekend!

In Mauritius it is actually the winter season and since some days it has been continuously raining! Hmmm this kind of weather really makes you wanna have some hot coffee at any given time!

Coffee!!! Yes this could be a great idea and make my post around this today! Coffee!!!
What you say friends!?

black-coffee-cinnamon-free-hd-wallpapers.jpg
Source

But I don't want to write a post with all the history behind this amazing drink or describe it's benefits , I think all this have already been written before!

Today I am mostly interested in investigating and discovering the World's Most Expensive Coffee! Do you guys know what is the most expensive one? Are you ready to discover this unique coffee?

So let's check it out!

*** KOPI LUWAK ***
kopi-luwak-what-makes-the-coffee-the-most-expensive-in-the-world.jpg
Source

You must be asking yourself what the hell is that animal doing next to this lovely cup of coffee! Well my dear friends, without this animal, this special coffee would not have existed! Read further to understand their role in making the world's most expensive coffee!

Kopi Luwak also known as Civet Coffee is actually the most expensive coffee in the world! You have to spend around $600 for a pound of this coffee and if you have a cup in a restaurant be ready to spend approx. $35-$100 per cup!

civet2.jpg
Source

Kopi Luwak is made from eaten and defecated coffee cherries by the Asian Palm Civet! You heard it right, it is made from this animal poo!!!

The Asian Palm Civet just love coffee cherries, and they pick up the most ripened ones and eat them. During the digestive process, the flesh of the coffee cherries is removed but the beans are not digested!

Some 24 or 36 hours after that the civet cats have eaten the coffee beans, they defecate them.

coffee.jpg
Source

Later on, farmers pick up these civet cats poop and before sending them to a processing factory, they separate the beans from the feces, wash and dry the beans in the sun!
To produce approximately 4 pounds of kopi luwak coffee, farmers need 22 pounds of defecated beans!
The process to make this coffee is really a long one!

luwak.jpg
Source

After the drying process, the farmers remove the outer skin and put the beans into wooden mortar and pound them. After the pounding, farmers sort out the beans to damaged and beans ready for roasting. Then sent to factory until it reaches the market!

317cfab9be066622357749e6a2197fed.jpg

Kopi Luwak represents only 1% of the world coffee production! The rarity and taste has usually been associated with the product's high price!

It is produced mainly on the islands of Sumatra, Java, Bali and Sulawesi in the Indonesian Archipelago.
It is also widely gathered in the forest or produced in the farms in the islands of the Philippines and in East Timor

Have you ever tasted this coffee?

coffee-photography-hd-wallpaper-1920x1200-28197.jpg
Source

So here we are guys, we discovered this unique coffee together! I hope you really enjoyed the journey along with me!

Please comment below about your views or let us know if you have ever tasted Kopi Luwak.

By following me you will discover more of such amazing posts!

Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Till the next one!

@progressivechef

Sort:  

I hear about Coffe Luwak a lot in malaysia with my friends, though its expensive stuff i hope to try one day! Thanks for the article @progressivechef

Do let us know when you try it @crypto.hype!
So glad you enjoyed the post!

OMG !! I could never in a million years afford even a sip of this coffee ! So no I have never tried it ! LOL! But I have heard of this coffee before and can see why its very expensive ! If your willing to buy some and send it to me I will certainly try it though !! LOL! I will try anything once , haha ! 😂😜☕☕☕upped and resteemed!

So you are ready to try it then!? Wow you got courage @karenmckersie!
Thanks for your usual support!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Well of course , but only if your paying ! Haha !😂😂😂❤

This post received a 2.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @progressivechef! For more information, click here!

I have actually had this! I'm not a great coffee connoisseur but I had the privilege of tasting this coffee on a couple occasions. It has a very earthy yet clean flavor go figure lol like I said I'm not a coffee expert so I didn't think it was anything too extraordinary

Thanks for giving us all a little description of this coffee @artedellavita, I have personally never had it and i am not sure i will be able to!Lol!
You are lucky to have tasted it though, not everyone can have this priviledge!

To be honest I was kinda grossed out those 3 times. Lol My mother's friend is a coffee exporter and through him we had the privilege of having a cup. But to go out on my way and get it myself, I don't think I'd do it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef M2W from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

It's the first time that i hear this information. Thank you for sharing.
@creativewoman

I tasted it once but I forgot how did it taste :-D It's been a long time. We, Indonesian people, rarely drink kopi luwak because as you said, it's quite expensive.

Oh that's nice to know @ikaputri3! I think most of kopi luwak are exported too and the price is just crazy!

That's true. The price is very expensive. Besides exporting, kopi luwak is mostly destined for tourist when they come to Indonesia.

This post has received a 2.17 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @progressivechef.

Yes, I've heard about this! omg.

If you had the opportunity, would you drink it???

Hahaha no.. I don't even drink regular coffee!

I'm just scared of trying this one!

I can imagine.. must be good tho. I guess haha


This post got a 32.60 % upvote thanks to @progressivechef - Hail Eris !

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 41.55 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @progressivechef.

I've heard of this coffee before, but never tried it!

I'm sure you have!! How does it taste like, @progressivechef?? :))

Hahaha! No @foodie.warrior, i've never tasted it! Hmmm not sure i'll get the courage to taste it though!

heheheh I think when the time comes, I might also not have the courage to do so! But the farmers do clean and remove the outer bean layer before grinding up, don't they? ;)

Oh yes there is a great cleaning process before the final product is packed for sure! But still when you think abt it... Well better dont think abt it!Lol!

heheh yes, must drink the first gulp quickly without thinking !!

Hahaha! And without forgetting to close the nose and eyes too!

Good points =)

Great post @progressivechef! I tried it once because my mother was so curious about it. But at that time I wasn't that real coffee person as I am now. So I can't really remember its taste. Or it isn't such big a deal for my taste buds in general. ;)

Thanks for your comments @alinalisa! You are lucky to have tasted it, I've never had it!

I liking coffee but I did not know the coffee made like this!Thank you for a very nice post!ありがとう^^

Thanks so much for checking it @yoshiko! I did not know also, I learned it from my friends!
Cheers
@progressivechef