CucumberSalad

in #food7 years ago

IMG_4254.jpg

As a tribute to the end of summer, and to my low-carb living, I decided to make one of my favorite dishes that I discovered last summer. This dish is so cool, and refreshing, I absolutely loved it on hot summer days. It's also a wonderful picnic or bbq side dish!

IMG_4244.jpg
Grab you up some cucumber, onion, sweet peppers, olives, dill, salt and pepper. Now, I really don't measure or count anything. I just toss it together by taste. Be sure to use an oversized bowl, that way, no mess while mixing.

Peel and slice up your cucumbers
IMG_4245.jpg
IMG_4247.jpg

Add a couple splashes of vinegar to the sliced cucumber. This is optional, and just my preference.

IMG_4249.jpg
Slice up your onion and toss in the bowl

IMG_4250.jpg
Toss in your seasonings, dill, fresh ground black pepper and salt......all to taste, give it a good stir.

IMG_4251.jpg
slice up and add your sweet peppers and olives
IMG_4252.jpg

add a few heaping dollops of sour cream
IMG_4253.jpg

stir, stir, stir......until mixed well
IMG_4254.jpg

cover and refrigerate!
IMG_4255.jpg

Serve and enjoy. This can be eaten immediately, but, like many other things, it's even better the following day (once everything marinates). This dish does not keep too long (max 4 days in fridge), eventually, the cucumbers do get a bit soggy, but all in all, it probably won't last that long! I like it really creamy, and lots of dill and pepper, but make it according to your tastes. Leave in or add things at your leisure! Happy Eating!

Sort:  

Awesome. I think we are about to harvest our last bit of cucumber. This looks like a fantastic prep idea for it. Thank you. Yum, yum, yum.

Definitely gonna give this a try soon! :)

Mmmmmm that is awesome!!!!!