FreshFarmDeviledEggs, with a Twist!

in #food7 years ago

IMG_4288.jpg

One of the things I discovered raising chickens and having fresh eggs is, that, fresh eggs completely SUCK when trying to hard boil! If you've ever hard-boiled fresh eggs, you KNOW what I mean. Do not mistake my fondness of fresh eggs! They are super delicious, however, peeling farm fresh hard-boiled eggs is a NIGHTMARE! So, I scoured the internet and chicken groups for advice about this issue. And of course, there is no shortage of information or lack of opinions.

IMG_4261.jpg

I combined several different ideas and theories. I started with a boiling pot of water. Place each egg into the boiling water, then boil for 15 minutes. While your eggs are boiling, prepare an ice bath.

IMG_4262.jpg
And yes, you may notice my lack of ice for this bath, haha, but it was enough to have nice, cold water. Set it in your sink.

When your eggs are done boiling, drain.
IMG_4263.jpg
I like to place the colander inside my pot for ease of straining and just so I don't have eggs cracking all in the sink. Then place your eggs immediately in the ice bath for 10 minutes.

IMG_4266.jpg
Strain.

Now, what I did was put my eggs into a storage container and refrigerated over night. There are folks that say you can peel right away, after the ice bath. I have not attempted this just yet. So I am not sure if skipping the refrigeration step is doable. But I do know after 24 hrs in the fridge, they peel beautifully!
IMG_4282.jpg

No more pulling your hair out while trying to peel farm fresh, hard-boiled eggs ;-)

I decided to try a different version of deviled eggs.......How about some bacon? mmm, yum!
IMG_4279.jpg
Cook it up!
IMG_4283.jpg

Meanwhile, slice up the eggs and scoop out the yolks. Mash 'em up and set aside your whites.
IMG_4284.jpg

I added some diced serrano peppers for a bit of heat!
IMG_4285.jpg

Crumble up some bacon and toss in your filling bowl. Bit of fresh cracked pepper.
IMG_4286.jpg

Along with the standard scoop of mayo and a tad bit of mustard.
IMG_4287.jpg
Mix thoroughly. Add more mayo to the desired creaminess as needed.

Once blended, place spoonfuls of filling into your white halves and some sprinkles of paprika to finish! And voila! Super, delicious deviled eggs with a twist!
IMG_4288.jpg
Dig in!