PotatoPancakes!

in #food7 years ago

IMG_4655.jpg

I am really behind in my postings! The onset of cooler weather really turns on my lazy genes.....hahaha. Anyhow, as we had plenty of leftover mashed potatoes after Thanksgiving, I decided to make one of my favorite guilty pleasures, potato pancakes! Now, I also had to make a sauce for my cakes, so, I decided to go in the realm of an avocado dipping sauce, kind of like the one Chile's makes. Delish!

Let's talk sauce!
IMG_4631.jpg
Gather up your ingredients, and get preparing.
IMG_4635.jpg
dice up the onion and tomato

IMG_4633.jpg
scoop out the avocado and mash with a fork

IMG_4634.jpg
add in all the other ingredients, and mix wellIMG_4636.jpg
you can just use the onion/tomato as a topping, but I wanted it mixed in! let this sit in the fridge until ready to use.

Now, let's talk Potato Cakes!
this particular dish can have just about anything in it. it's totally up to you!

Gather your ingredients.
IMG_4639.jpg

combine and mix.
IMG_4642.jpg

Oil up your skillet, scoop up a handful of mixture, shape into a small patty.
IMG_4648.jpg

Toss them in the hot pan, sear on each side 4-5 minutes, or to desired crispness.
IMG_4660.jpg

Serve them up, and Enjoy!

IMG_4654.jpg

Now, I must say, had I had some bread crumbs on hand, these would have been so much better, but, even still, they were pretty damn good! Like I said before, there is really no limit to the concoction, it's really a matter of what you want in there. I'm pretty basic when it comes to my potato cakes, simple is good!

SauceRecipe:
1/2 avocado
1/4 c mayonnaise
1/4 c sour cream
1 tbsp buttermilk
1 1/2 tsp white vinegar
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp dried parsley
1/8 tsp onion powder
dash dill weed
dash garlic powder
dash ground black pepper
2 tbsp diced tomato
1 tbsp diced onion
*I added 2 tsp garlic siracha seasoning for some heat
Also note, I did not have the buttermilk on hand, so I made it without and it tasted just fine to me!

Christmas is coming! Maybe plan to have some leftover potatoes! Try it, and Enjoy!

Sort:  

Looks great.

Sounds delicious. I love potato cakes. I grew up in the country and they were a regular item on the menu. Thanks for the article.
@tincanjunction

Congratulations @sback! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sback! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!