FOOD... The Best Medicine!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I have always considered myself quite healthy growing up. I have been very active, starting from a young age with triathlons and gymnastics to basketball and horseback riding. I even tried javelin last year on the track and field team at my school! Although I avoided my veggies and most family dinners consisted with little me sitting at the table well after everyone else had finished eating their meal, because I “didn’t like the fish” or I “hated the tomatoes” (which I still despise), I seemed to stay slim and fit. With this in mind I was quite surprised when I was diagnosed with Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis not too long ago.

Now, with this new chronic illness I was left in quite a bit of pain which eventually stopped after I had took many prescription pills and received an injection to my right wrist. I was also left with a unhappy stomach due to the medication! I knew that I no longer wanted to have to continue with these medicines which is when my mother heard about many chronic illnesses being somehow linked to the foods we eat. She has always said that food should be thought of as medicine and should not be eaten just for the taste.

Since then, our family has explored many different “diets”, which included gluten free, a very short paleo phase, somewhat vegan and then vegetarian. None of which really made a huge difference with how I was feeling. The only benefit that came with trying these diets was that I was eating more wholesome foods and had a happier stomach for it!

As of now, I have not recently noticed pain due to my arthritis (fingers crossed that it is now in remission) but my only question is to whether it is the medicine or the change to more wholesome foods that has made me feel much better.

With the start of 2018 I have made it my new year resolution to go back to being a full vegan. After watching the documentary Food Choices on Netflix I feel that this new food adventure is the best way for me to continue improving my health, supporting the welfare of animals and improving the environment.

Now my next challenge is finding those wholesome, vegan, organic and delicious recipes that I enjoy… any suggestions?!?! :D

Check out the #veganuarycontest by @lolzwithlisa she has a ton of great information.

Sort:  

I've watched that documentary on Netflix as well and it's true, I will never look at food the same way again. I'd rather see animals sitting at the table rather than on it lol

lol! Yes, I totally agree! It was a real eye opener for me to start paying attention to what exactly I am eating. I recommend it to everyone!

Good for you for taking control of the food you put in your body! I believe our food is different today than in the past. The amount of processed foods that our society is eating is astounding! Most of it shouldn’t be approved as “food” and none of it is nutritional. We are born to eat to survive yet we have turned food into a pleasure and eat for taste! Eating plant based foods grown in nutrient rich soil is the way if should be! Keep it up kid, you are on the right path to a great life! 😉

You are soo awesome! Would love to see you get back to a fully vegan diet. the more whole food plant based foods the better. the less processed vegan stuff the better as well. look at my how to go vegan post and check out all the instagram accounts i linked. youll find recipes for days! take care my friend.

Great, inspiring post! I agree with your mother, food should be our medicine :) Hope your vegan journey is going well.