This weeks kitchen experiment: Carrot & Turnip Mash

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I work as a Chef at an Organic Cafe and am often looking for and creating new recipes in the kitchen.

I love to try new things and really enjoy sharing my creations with my customers and getting their input.

So I thought, why not share my creations and finds with everyone here too? I also thought to take it a step further and share my experiences I had while making the recipes I try, give the pros and cons, and give an honest opinion about the turnout.

Because NOTHING is worse than trying a new recipe only to find out the end result is disgusting. So I'll help you out there!

This week I made.... Carrot and Turnip Mashed "Potatoes"

20180109_112510.jpg

WHY I DECIDED TO MAKE THE RECIPE: I've made Cauliflower Mash countless times before and love it but I thought to try a different version because why not? I've stumbled upon many TURNIP Mashed recipes on Pinterest in the past and the one that spoke to me most was a Carrot and Turnip combination. I love carrots and I actually don't have a lot of experience with turnips so I decided to change that and give this recipe a shot!

THE RECIPE: A lot of the recipes I found used brown sugar but I opted out of that as I wanted my creation to be more of a lunch/dinner side dish and not a dessert. After more browsing, I picked the ingredients that I thought would go together best for what I was looking for... a creamy and garlicy mash!
INGREDIENTS:
4-5 Large Carrots (peeled),
4-5 Large Turnips (peeled),
1 Cup Almond Milk,
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil,
Garlic Powder to taste,
Salt & Pepper to taste.
INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Peel and boil carrots and turnips in a large pot until soft
  2. Drain water and then add almond milk
  3. Use stick blender till smooth
  4. Add the remaining ingredients and continue blending until all flavors are blended

WHAT IT WAS LIKE MAKING THE RECIPE: This recipe was super easy to make! It took me maybe a total of 15 minutes from start to finish. I loved how the ingredients are things that most people have in their kitchen cabinets. I also loved how you are able to adjust the recipe to your liking. I added more garlic then what was called for and loved it! I also did not use as much almond milk as called for as the carrots and turnips were pretty soggy after being boiled and thought that was enough liquid for me.

THE TURNOUT: Overall, I'd give this recipe a 7 out of 10. It's definitely different than any other mash I've had before and tasty as well but turnips are an interesting food item to me and noooooot exactly my favorite. However, being paired with carrots this recipe was pretty good and I'd say it's defintiely worth a shot if you are looking for a mash that is less carby and full of real nutrtients!

WAS IT WORTH IT: Yes! Give it a shot! I feel that this mash would really compliment a steak dinner. I also think that it could be a huge hit with the kids too because it's orange and fun! ALSO, this recipe is gluten free and vegan so everyone wins!

Please let me know if you decided to give this recipe a shot! I'd love to hear your feedback or if you made any changes!

Sort:  

This sounds so fun <3 Im going to add turnips to my shopping list.

It is fun! I definitely giggled when I was done because it's so orange lol I hope you enjoy it!

This is such an interesting combination. I think this will be a great recipe to add to my weekly meal prep list! It's much healthier than just plain mashed potatoes.

I am looking forward to more of your creations! Thanks for sharing 💚

Definitely healthier! I hope you enjoy it!

Wow, I've had turnip mash before, but never paired with carrots. Being someone that loves mashed food I may just have to try this out. Thanks so much for sharing. BTW, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

I'm so glad that I sparked your interest! I hope you enjoy it too!

That is AMAZING that you'd like to nominate my post! I accept and am humbled! Thank you so much for helping me to reach out to others!

I'm going to follow OCD right now to learn more!

Nice post friend 😉 great recipe, if you want check my new recipe post 👍

Thank you! And oh my goodness your sticky buns look DELISH!