3 halves = 1 whole in Cuba

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I recently traveled to Cuba and got the full food experience. I ate the essentials until no end; beans, rice and pork. But I was on a quest to eat an authentic Cuban sandwich.

Ordering food in Cuba sure is an experience. Chances are you will be either underwhelmed or overwhelmed with the food that is brought out to you. You never know what is going to show up on your plate.

sandwich.JPG

To my surprise the Cuban sandwich originated in Miami but that didn't stop me from ordering them in Havana. During my time in Cuba I ate several Cuban sandwiches and every time they brought out 3 halves.

At first I thought they cut a sandwich into 3 parts, but that is not the case. You can't tell from the photo but it really is 3 halves.

If anyone knows why they do this I am interested in knowing why.

WP_20160319_025.jpg

WP_20160319_101.jpg

Sort:  

One of my favourite go to sandwiches