5 Delicious Ancient Thai Desserts that I would recommend You to try

in #food7 years ago (edited)

We have a lot of desserts in Thailand. Today, I would like to show you another 5 ancient Thai desserts that are very interesting and really delicious!

The first one is the most interesting dessert out of these five desserts… It is comprised of natural plant. Do you know “tropical pitcher plant”? This plant eats insects! Its nectar attracts insects to go into the cup and then the insects are trapped at the bottom of the cup. WOW! Amazing!

We call this plant in Thai as "Moh Khao Moh Kaeng Ling" because monkeys like to drink rain drops in the cup. It is also called as "monkey cup". ("Ling" in Thai means "Monkey")

Since its shape looks like a narrow cup, local Thai people in the Southern part use it as a little container for their dessert called, “Khanom Moh Khao Moh Kaeng Ling”.

They made sticky rice with coconut milk and put it in the tropical pitcher plant! It's really creative idea, right? You can eat the sweet sticky rice and the tropical pitcher plant together. Yummy! This Thai dessert is now really hard to find. It’s a special dessert of Thai Southerners.

thai dessert3.jpg

The Second is "Khanom Tarn" – Palm balls. It is a traditional Thai dessert with a unique aroma and made from natural ingredient; palm fruits.

thai dessert4.jpg

The third is "Khanom Khai Nok Kata" - Thai fried sweet potato balls – the small balls look cute and yummy!

thai dessert2.jpg

The forth is "Khanom Ko" – Flour balls mixed with coconut fresh - Special dessert of Thai Southerners.

thai dessert5.jpg

The fifth is Santol with sweet spicy sauce" – Do you remember Santol, Thai fruit? I have presented my own dessert to you in my old post, “Santol in syrup”, too. This dessert is also made from Satol but its taste is totally different; "Santol in syrup" is sweet and sour whereas "Santol with sweet spicy sauce" is sweet and spicy!

thai dessert1.jpg

If you visit Thailand, I would recommend you to try these 5 ancient Thai desserts, apart from other lists of Thai desserts that I am quite sure you have in hands now! ;D

p.s. These photos are from my sister who lives in Phatthalung province, my hometown, in the South of Thailand.

Sort:  

I admire your culture dear friend @tangmo always present something delicious, congratulations for the culinary culture of your country, it would be beautiful poer to visit your country and taste all these tasty desserts, thank you very much for sharing
Have a great day

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your nice compliment, as always! I much appreciate for your kindness! Yes, you are welcome to visit Thailand to taste all of these desserts at any time....

Have a great day, too! ;)

That is amazing to think about harvesting the Pitcher plants and using them to hold the rice for your dessert. I'm glad to see the picture of them, too. It shows that they are small pitcher plants. It would take real skill to put the rice in them without tearing the plants apart! Now you have me wondering if all Pitcher plants are edible. But they are mostly protected around here. Thanks for showing it -- and please thank your sister, too!

You're welcome! Thanks so much for your nice comment and sharing your experience with me! I'm glad to know that you are interested in the Pitcher plants. Yes, I agree with you, "it would take real skill to put the rice in them without tearing the plants apart!".

I'm not sure whether all Pitcher plants can be edible. In the old days, local Southerners have to pick up the plants from the forest which is hard to find, so nowadays, they plant the plants in their own garden.

Many thanks on behalf of my sister, I'll let her know! ;)

They look so very good. I would have trouble with the 'hot' ones though. I am such a wimp when it comes to hot sauces, etc. But still I would eat way too many for the good of self if these were all there in front of me. Better to have it on my screen instead.....NAAAH!! ( :

Thanks so much for your nice comment and sharing your experience with me! It's not too hot, I think you can try it and you would probably love it! ;)

Khanom Ko is something that I wouldn't mind trying, I will have to add this to my list.

Thank you very much for your nice comment and stopping by! I'm glad to know that you are willing to try Khanom Ko and add it to your list! That'll be great! ;)

So different then here. Never seen here at all. I am so glad that you share your unique Ancient Thai Dessert ;) I would like to try it - of course one day. :) Up and resteem ;)

Thanks so much for your nice comment, up and resteem my post! I'm really happy to hear that you like them. Yes, you can try them all, if you come to Thailand. ;)

So now I have couple reasons to visit you country and it makes me more curious
You are so welcome my friend :))

You're right! Really good reasons for your visit to Thailand..... ;D

^^ absolutely

That looks so good, it's on my list for my next visit.
i will just have to eat and eat next time I'm in Thailand :)

Thanks so much! I'm glad you like these desserts.... Yeah! There will be a lot of foods and desserts to eat next time of your visit to Thailand! ;)

All this is new for me, for the first time I see these desserts, they look delicious. Thanks for introducing us to your rich culture :)

You're welcome! Thanks so much! I'm really glad you like these dessert! If you come to Thailand, I would recommend you to try them all and you will love them! ;)

When I come to Thailand you will be my supervisor :)

With my pleasure! ;)

A plant that you can eat? Amazing. The Khanom Ko look and sound delicious. :)

Yes, we can eat the plant, really delicious! Thanks so much! I'm glad you like Khanom Ko, too! ;)

Thanks a lot! I much appreciate for your post! ;)

I never tried the first one.How was it?

Its taste like sticky rice with coconut cream.... Yummy! ;)

คล้ายๆ ข้าวหลามค่ะ แต่กะทิจะเยิ้มกว่า แทนที่เค้าจะใส่ในกระบอกไม้ไผ่แบบข้าวหลาม เค้าก็ใส่ในตัว "หม้อข้าวหม้อแกงลิง" ซึ่งทานไปพร้อมๆ กับข้าวเหนียวได้เลยค่ะ อร่อยมากๆ ค่ะ มีเฉพาะในภาคใต้ค่ะ

ถ้าเจอต้องลองซื้อมาทานละคะ

ดีค่ะ ลองทานดูนะคะ แล้วจะติดใจค่ะ ;)

They all actually look delicious. Might try thhem out if I find them somewhere . @tangmo

Thanks so much! I'm happy you like the desserts! If you come to Thailand, you can try them all and you will love them, for sure! ;)

Amazing dear friend @tangmo

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you like! ;)

Welcome dear friend :)

I love Cat Ice Cream with Nuts. Thank you. I'm Doctor Oatmeal Joey.

Wow! Awesome.

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! ;)

each desert looks nice ..great..post..my dear friend...@tangmo

Thanks for sharing a nice dessert.
Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you very much for your comment, upvoted and resteemed my post! I'm glad you like the desserts. ;)

I am dying to go back. I will resteem this just in case one day a miracle happens :) thanks for sharing !

Thank you very much for resteem my post! I do really hope you can come back to Thailand shortly! ;)

@tangmo,
It seems delicious! I like that and when I wish be at Thailand I will definitely eat them. Thank you very much for sharing those great experiences with Steem family!

Cheers~

You're welcome! Thanks a lot for your nice comment. I'm glad you like the desserts! Yes, I would suggest you to try them when you visit Thailand. ;)