The Truth About the Most Delicious Mangos You'll Ever Taste!

in #food7 years ago

Want To Find the Most Delicious Mangos You'll Ever Taste?

(And trust me, if you're not a mango lover by the end of this, well, don't say I didn't try!)

I'm going to tell you one thing...

DON'T, I repeat...DON'T...

Don't try to go to the supermarket to find them...

Boring Supermarket Run of the Mill Mangos

(this is a picture of my local supermarket mangos)

Why?

  • There's a HUGE difference between supermarket mangos and home-grown mangos

  • In fact, virtually any home-grown mango will be FAR SUPERIOR than supermarket mangos

  • Supermarket mangos are usually picked from overseas and are picked SUPER EARLY...

  • ...which doesn't allow them to develop ideal sugar content or flavor

  • So basically, they're tasteless!

I didn't even realize the difference until last year.

When, on a whim, I decided to order some mangos from a grower in Florida during mango season.

I was hooked!!

The taste difference was simply unimaginable!!

The mangos were SWEET, JUICY, and altogether a different animal. (I mean, fruit!)

So, I have to admit it...

This year, I went a little nuts...

This is a picture of the mangos that I have sitting on my countertop...

mangos home 1.JPG

(Haden, Ataulfo, and Irwin mangos)

mangos home 2.JPG
(I've already eaten the Edward and Duncan mangos from the last batch that I ordered from Florida)

Some people ask me if it's worth it..

And I say, most definitely, "YES"

It is a tad bit more expensive...

But honestly, during mango season (June/July/August) here in the US,

oftentimes the shipping is included (especially if they use flat rate boxes)...

And, well, you know, the taste is well worth it...

ESPECIALLY since there are TONS of different varieties of mangos that I bet you never knew about!!

And if you happen to be lucky enough to live in a tropical or temperate climate

(like Asia!!) - Ahhhh....

Well then, you definitely know what DELICIOUS MANGOS taste like!!

(And, yes, I may be a wee bit jealous...)

Since I live in western New York....

Unfortunately, mangos don't grow here...

(BUT!! I have some sprouting from seed - but that will be another blog post!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts and comments below! Are you "mango crazy" like me, or a fellow fruit lover? How far have you gone to seek out exotic fruit?

Thanks for reading!

Also be sure to check my last article by clicking the image below :)

Mouth Watering Scrumptious Cheesy Spicy Massive Korean Ribs

Sort:  

Congratulations @teresachang! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey thanks for noticing!!