Save your bad coffee with a spruce of salt

in #food7 years ago

The salt takes the top of the bitterness. Try it in a coffee grade of poorer quality. Or if you just do not like coffee.

Have you ever been drinking coffee with salt? No, well, unless a ghost had swapped on sugar and saltbushes.

But now the wine and spirits vinepair has made it for you, apparently in earnest. And a writer now suggests that you do it too.

There are no big quantities, just a pinch tip added the ground beans during the brewing or until the finished brew will take the bitterness, it is said.

For salt reduces bitterness. It is a known feature of the kitchen, where chefs use salt and bitters in combination to achieve goodness. Therefore, it will probably also make your coffee more gentle and compassionate.

But I would not recommend it if you drink good quality coffee or if you like the coffee for its bitterness.

But it can certainly be a good replacement if you belong to those who can not get the black drink down without large amounts of milk and sugar. And possibly also for you who can not escape the caffeine pillow and like that variety, but have to thank you for a hay from the vending machine.

With this the tip is at least given on.

Sort:  

No joke, but coconut oil works as well , wonderful flavour and fat is transporting flavours , in this case the coffee. And it give you a nice little boost of enery

Another benefit from putting salt in your coffee is that it helps you to stay hydrated. When we sweat the first thing that depletes in our body is salt! And it's an essential mineral to the bodies natural functioning and to hydration. But coffee is a diuretic which means that it causes your body to release a lot of it's water content within approximately 45 minutes of consuming. And with that water it flushes out a lot of it's minerals, like salt. So it literally dehydrates the body. So by adding salt to your coffee your giving the body back a lot of the salt that it will lose from drinking the coffee, which helps to counteract dehydration. Another thing that can help with dehydration after drinking coffee is to ensure that you drink lots of water within 45 minutes of having a coffee :)

I like quite bitter coffee but i'll give it a try. There are always opportunities to improve in life.

Haha.. yea i agree!

I am not a coffee drinker as such. I agree with steemboys with coconut oil as I use it for my hot chocolate. I use good quality salt in all my cooking. Murry River Pink Salt from Australia which is produced sustainably. It has chlorine, sodium, magnesium, sulphate, calcium, potassium, iron, iodine. Similar characteristics to Himalayan pink salt.

For me, I am physically active in the tropics of Australia. Recently I had a case of dehydration. My solution was a teaspoon of honey, a teaspoon of pink salt, mixed with water. I had this three times a day to offset the loss of nutrients from the sweat.

Wow, you know alot about it :-)

I just read a bit on the internet and experiment with things that interest me. There are many unusual things that I eat/drink that I have prepared myself.

Thanks, tradewonk.

8 ) infinity happiness

My first salted coffee was from 85 degrees cafe. I just had to try one, there was a subtle hint of salt and overpowered with milk froth and chocolate so couldn't really tell the difference. I never actually tried it when I brew my coffee. Next time I will add just salt and leave off the milk. Thanks for the tip.

where is this 85 degrees cafe?

We have them a lot here in Sydney, Australia. It is a Taiwan franchise. They started one shop in Sydney in 2006 and now have 8 cafes in Sydney. Their coffee is great.

*edit
8 is not a lot is it? ehehhe

Do that, but not too much ;-D

Great post! upvoted!
I hate to ask but could you maby check out my newest post?
https://steemit.com/nature/@randomguy123/3znryx-the-greatest-threat-to-existence-as-we-know-it
I worked really long on it and i think its important for people to read
(Please only read if you want to im not trying to force you or anything)

I'm going to try this! I've never heard this tip before.

I think you will like it :-)

I'm certainly trying this out! Thanks for sharing!

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

Thank you :-)

Really?! I'll try that thank you!

Bad coffee is a regular issue if you not at home i know best.

Hi!I enjoy coffee very much. I will try this idea.

I have read this tip before and forgot about it. Salt is the last thought in my mind in regards to my coffee. I will try this next time, but truely sugar and milk are my favorite ❤️

I'm going to try this. Sound better to me than adding butter, which I've heard is delicious, too.

You are correct. I learned this trick a long time ago, but forgot all about it until seeing your post. Thank you! 🐓🐓

Definition of Bad Coffee: Grounds for Divorce.