The Rarest (and Weirdest) Tea You'll Ever Drink!

in #food7 years ago

Over the years in my quest to finally quit coffee, I picked up drinking tea. In fact, I would say I've become sort of a connoisseur of it.

I've probably had some of the best tea on the market, and I'm constantly on the search for teas I haven't tried.

Which lead me to one of the strangest teas I've ever drank:

PANDA TEA

Y5y25o2.jpg

Also known as "Panda Dung Tea!"

Yep! You heard that right guys. This particular green tea is fertilized with the poop from pandas! I know it sounds absolutely weird (at best), but it's actually really good. (Also, it's just fertilized with it so, just relax!)

The reason for this is, the (theoretically) is rich in fiber and vitamins from the type of bamboo that these pandas eat.

The tea is highly nutritional and is said to have strong medicinal properties, including cancer prevention.

Scottish+panda.jpg

As far as the taste? If you've drank green tea before than the taste will be familiar. But I would say that it's stronger, "earthier" flavor than the average green tea.

For obvious reasons it is only grown and processed in China, since pandas are native to that area.

It's also China's most expensive green tea. Starting at $70 a gram! So you're not going to find it at your neighbor Ralphs or Vons.

pandax.jpg

If you are into "strange brews" I would highly trying this tea if you have the opportunity. And considering the price tag, you're probably not going to get too many opportunities unless you willing shell out the big bucks yourself.

Sort:  

lol Gave up coffee 20 years ago ... But pound back a lot of tea now,,,, Will keep an eye open at my local tea haunts ... maybe they have heard of it ..... Thanks

Coffee is ongoing battle for me. But tea is my obsession now. Glad you liked the piece.

I've never heard of this tea before. The tea leaves look quite pretty. This is weird but least it isn't pooped out like the kopi luwak coffee. Have you heard of it?

Yes I have. Haven't tried it though. A little afraid to be honest. lol.

Haha! I haven't tried it either. It just seems a little bit gimmicky and not that appealing.

Switched also from coffee to tea in the office. Green tea is so far the favorite :) can't wait to buy some tea in Japan when we are there in 2 weeks.
So the panda tea is the partner of that indonesian poop coffee hahaha.
Followed 🐳! We do travel vlogs on YouTube and would like to make global connections on Steemit 🌎! Follow us back so we can be friends 🤗

I'm not sure if they're partners or not. Actually I think the Panda Tea is from an independent farm.

Congratulations @trendhobo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!