Cheeses of the Week #3 - Black Pepper Pecorino, Jarlsberg, Cambozola

in #food6 years ago

Hello all! Happy Saturday!

This week we tried three different cheeses, all from Trader Joe’s, which is THE place to get the best cheeses! Yum!

The first one is a Black Pepper Pecorino cheese from Italy. And Wow does it WOW! It has a delightful, strong, pungent taste with a nice bite of spicy black pepper. As I sit here eating this, it takes me to the rolling hills of Italy where the sheep are grazing on the lush grass and there’s not a care in the world. Awesome with grapes and crusty french bread. Definitely a crowd-pleaser.

IMG-0923.JPG

The second cheese is a semi-sweet, part-skim Jarlsberg wedge from Norway. Compared to all the different cheeses we have tried, this one is no doubt the mildest, I think it mostly having to do with it being made from part-skim milk. For those who aren’t into strong-flavored cheeses, this one is for you. Mellow and nutty-flavored, this cheese is perfect for those starting on their cheese adventures! A bonus to the cheese is that it is naturally lactose and gluten-free!

IMG-0924.JPG

The third cheese is a triple cream, soft-ripen Cambozola blue cheese. A perfect marriage between a soft brie and a pungent blue cheese. Although it has a lovely taste, it wasn’t quite what I expected. I enjoy eating brie cheese, but I thought the blue cheese was a bit overpowering. However, for those who want to take their cheese palate to the next level, this is a must! Delicious non-the-less!

IMG-0925.JPG

Sort:  

All very delicious! Thanks for the creative descriptions! I’m tasting it as I read!

Wonderful! I’m glad I can share and inspire everyone to the awesome cheeses of the world!