German Kräutersalz - herbal salt

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit foodies :) I used to live in Germany, and for me there is something which is a quintessential part of the German kitchen cupboard: Kräutersalz, or - quite literally - herb salt. It's a finely ground blend of sea salt and a mixture of herbs, such as thyme, oregano, parsley, sage, basil, etc.

My German girlfriend is visiting me here in England, and we were having breakfast together a couple of days ago when the idea struck me to make some. Perhaps it's already available in British supermarkets, but I've never seen it, and anyway, if it's just herbs and salt, how hard can it be?

I took out my food mixer and put the grinder attachment on.

I measured out 5 grams of mixed herbs, and then put in 5 grams of salt. This barely looked like much, so I added 5 grams more. All the grains of salt still seemed to be vanish amidst the flakes of herbs, so I added in another 5 grams. A 1:3 mixture in total.

I blitzed everything in the grinder for a couple of minutes until it resembled the consistency I know.

Here is the finished product:

Verdict - success! In future I will use a little bit less salt; perhaps 5 grams of mixed herbs to 12.5 grams of salt, which would be a ratio of 2:5. But it still tasted great sprinkled lightly on bread with cottage cheese and sliced meats, and was a pretty convincing flashback to all the great German breakfasts I have had in the past.

Sort:  

Regards to your German girlfriend,williamhenderson. Maybe you produce tons of herb salt and sell it to the supermarkets. Call it Henderson's Flashback.

You should use all five Tags i.e. food gemany life salt herbs.

Updated :-)

Well done! Pay attention, what you answer in comments. A lot of Steemians don't like such short phrases. But you are a poor beginner heavy in need for STEEM and we know each other. So I vote it of course.
Do not post such phrases to strangers. Some people are flagging it and this will hurt your reputation. Steem on William! Greetings to my lovely @dejagis.

Good idea. It reminds me of a policy we had on Wikipedia - "Don't template the regulars". There are lots of different warning and advice templates on Wikipedia that are used primarily on newbies. It was considered very poor practice to use templates on established users.

Every system has its specials. There are a lot of stalkers, writing just „very nice“ . Maybe they want to open a smalltalk, but a experienced Steemian want to have responses regarding the matter of the writings and don't like to answer phrases for creating attention. So steem on William and open the conversation with the others too. You will see, our community is alive.

Noch was William. Wenn du dich entscheidest in der Community #deutsch Artikel zu posten, nimm als ersten Tag „deutsch“. Dann kannst du auch ganz ohne Scham bei unserem einzigen, deutschen Whale @twinner anfragen, ob er dir Steempower delegieren möchte.

Damit hast du viel mehr Vergnügen beim Voten, weil dir das etwas mehr STEEM bringt, als dein dünner Anfängervote. Twinner hat diese Community mit aufgebaut als eines der drei Mitglieder der Guild deutsch und zeigt stets starkes Engagement für die neuen Mitglieder. Franziska könnte das auch tun, wenn sie ihr Steeming Out endlich findet.

Kleine Erleichterung zum Finden für deine Leute:
schau' mal hier.
Ganz unten im Text steht @twinner's Angebot.
Du kannst ihn einfach per Kommentar um die Delegation von Steem Power bitten. Kostet nix.
Dann haben deine Votes mehr $-Kraft. Den Schieberegler brauchst du aber nicht benutzen.
Liebe Grüße, @double-u

Danke @double-u. Schön, dass du dich auch um die Newbies kümmerst, die mir am Herzen liegen. Irgendwie fehlt es mir im Moment am dafür notwendigen Elan. Bin auch schon wieder runter vom Steem. Bis morgen, zum nächsten Vote.

Bis bald.

I don't remember my grandmother (Großmutter / Grossmutter) but I do remember my mother sometimes mixing up the herbs and salt together in the blender and as a finishing touch after she took foods out of the oven, she would sprinkle this on top.

So now I see where it came from!

Ahsooooo! as the oldies would say!

:)

Haha, nice. Yes, it really goes very well on so many foods. Especially on boiled/scrambled eggs and omelettes.