French Vegan Pissaladière

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I found this amazing but simple recipe recently in a cookbook by Robin Robertson called "Vegan without Borders." Though there are several reasons why this book title caught my eye (the reference to Doctors without borders being one of them); I love how there are recipes native to France that do not include the stereotypical cream, cheese and meat. The book highlights many regions of the world and some traditional dishes and how to make them completely plant-based.

Since there is quite a bit of crust to spare, it seemed like a reasonable time to try out some new herb-infused dipping oils that I had just gotten at Aldi's Supermarket. This baked dish also pairs nicely with a bright leafy green salad.

I used store-bought pizza dough and added the caramelized onions (took about 30 minutes to get them that way but the smell was divine and totally worth the wait!). The Herbes de Provence taste and smell great with the salty bite of the black oil-cured Nicoise olives. It truly smells and feels as though you are in the South of France as you inhale the flavors. If you like onions and olives, this is the dish for you! Bon Appetite!

Sort:  

Looks awesome. And go Aldi on the nice oils! I heard they just came out with a new vegan and vegetarian line as well.

Thanks! Yeah, I love Aldi's! They have some pretty good organic produce at great prices too. I like to get my coconut oil there too.