Salad: Not your average "Rabbit Food"

in #food7 years ago

https://i.imgur.com/uKJrTHP.jpg

When some people hear that I don't eat meat, they assume all I want to eat is a "salad" a.k.a. "rabbit food." These comments are occasionally followed by snickers and smirks and offers of iceberg lettuce and celery or carrots. However, to be fair, I actually do like salads. Take the salad from the picture above for example; while it contains several leafy greens it also contains grains, legumes, vegetables, fruits, and herbs. This can translate to light, refreshing and filling all in one. Now that's MY kind of salad!

To replicate, first start with a bed of leafy greens. I typically go for an organic mix of Spring or baby leaves assortment including romaine, arugula, kale, spinach, and radicchio. Go with what you like while also keeping in mind that typically the darker in color the more nutritious the leaf.

Next, top the fresh leafy greens with a warm grain of your choice. In the featured photograph I used quinoa; I've also used red quinoa and you could substitute barley or millet if you prefer. I like to use a grain high in protein, at least 10 grams per serving. I also mix chickpeas and kernels of corn into the grain for extra protein and flavor.

After you have these two layers for your base, you are free to add whichever fruits and vegetables of your choice. You may wish to take into consideration what's in season and check the availability of what is fresh locally. For a warmer Autumn or Winter salad I tend to substitute cucumbers and tomatoes and put steamed sweet potatoes and beets. The herbs vary by season and mood as well. Cilantro and cucumbers have a nice refreshing and cool feel. Rosemary and mustard grains offer a warmer affect. Feel free to experiment and make it to your liking.

The dressing I tend to start with in the spring and summer is a light base of simple ingredients such as extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), lemon juice, fresh crushed garlic, and salt. During the Fall and Winter months, I like to go for a hearty nutritional yeast dressing. I also added fresh chopped rosemary and whole grain mustard. Purple onions and cilantro were extra toppings and I also like to throw in some roasted and salted pumpkins seeds or sunflowers seeds for extra crunch and flavor as well.

For extra protein, flavor, and nutrients, I like to top the salad with blackened tofu or tempeh. Fry or sauté either one in some oil; I like to use coconut oil. You may either choose to leave it plain or add some chili powder or salt and pepper to your liking. Either way, you will be topping it with dressing, so plenty of opportunities for flavor.

Bon appetite!

Sort:  

Actually i love meet, but when something looks so delicious mnom mnom 👌👌definetly will choose your salad;)

Yay! So exciting when a "meat-eater" appreciates too!

For some reason, I have never noticed or never thought of nice salads as having layers. I've always just kind of jumbled things together. But this makes a lot of sense. And, you're right, this is the kind of salad I could eat every single day!!

Yes, it's great to have fun and get creative with food! Glad I could be of inspiration! Thanks for the comments :-)

Wow, that looks so good. Sounds good too... a nice, simple dressing. Can't go wrong with Garlic!

Yep, I love garlic! I love how it can act as a natural antibiotic too! Thanks for checking out my post!

I could not contain my excitement when I found out one of my favorite foods had healing properties. Good food can't be healthy!

Avo is my downfall. I wish I planted a avo tree years ago

Hi there! I have had some downfalls with avocado too. I planted one years ago but despite my best efforts it still hasn't produced anything yet! I've even covered it with plant blankets to protect it from the frost but to no avail. Oh well, let's keep trying! It's never too late to plant a tree in my opinion!

Mmm...that looks pretty good! Here's my list of favorite foodies I follow. You should check them out too!

Thanks! I'll definitely keep an eye on those as well!

This post received a 2.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @truth-be-told! For more information, click here!

healthy for my tummy!

And tasty, too! Thanks for the kind comment :)

This post has received a 1.48 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @truth-be-told.

Congratulations @wisekricket! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@wisekricket, Congrats on your award! Doing really well for your 1st post!

Hahaha! Thanks so much!

Your salad looks absolutely delicious. :)X

Thanks! I appreciate that :)