Foodie blog #4: Crispy Homemade Eggrolls 😋 (How to recipe)

in #food7 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians!    

Would you like some super crispy and crunchy egg rolls? Do you enjoy them in Chinese takeout or dine in-meals at Asian restaurants?  Well, now you can have them for breakfast, lunch, snack or dinner.  Today, I will show you how I make my homemade Egg rolls.  They are very simple and easy to make, so I thought I’d share it with you.    

Many people have asked “What is the difference between spring roll vs egg roll?”  Spring rolls are wrapped in rice paper and served cold.  I did an earlier post about spring rolls – if you want to check it out, click here.  Egg rolls are wrapped in a flour dough and deep fried.  Spring rolls are a healthier alternative but who doesn’t love to indulge their taste buds with some crunchy deep fried egg rolls? Since there are many different countries that have their own versions of egg rolls, there are many different ways and ingredients that you can use prepare this dish. But this is how I make them.    

You’ll need the following ingredients:   

  • 1 Package of Vermicelli Noodles 
  • Egg roll wrappers (50 in a package) 
  • 5 eggs  Meat (ground pork or ground chicken – I use ground chicken, if vegan substitute fried tofu) 
  • 4 Carrots Cabbage 
  • 1 teaspoon Salt 
  • 1 teaspoon Pepper 
  • ½ cup Oyster sauce 
  • ¼ cup Soy sauce 
  • Vegetable oil    

You will be able to make at least 40-45 egg rolls, since usually while making them you may accidentally burst a few of the wraps and will need to re-wrap! I like to make as many egg rolls as I can until all the fillings run out!  

First, you wash your ingredients. Then carefully, use a shredder and shred the carrots into tiny bite sized pieces.  Thinly slice your cabbage.  I only use half the cabbage for this batch. 

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add your noodles.  Cook your noodles until it is ready or soft, don’t be afraid to eat one to see if its ready (should not be chewy or hard).  Drain and cut your noodles in half (as shown in the picture below).    

Using one egg, separate the yolk and egg white.  We do this with only 1 of the eggs as we will need the 1 egg yolk in a separate bowl to be used later. Now add the 4 other eggs and the egg white from the 1 egg to all your prepared fillings in a bowl as shown below.   

Mix your ingredients together (carrots, cabbages, noodles, eggs, salt, pepper, meat) and you are ready to start wrapping!  


How to wrap:  

Wrapping and rolling the egg roll is very easy to do, you’ll get the hang of it quickly, I promise.  Lay out one egg roll wrapper on a plate with a corner pointed toward you.  Then place a tablespoon of the fillings in the corner facing you.  Using your finger, gently roll over, fold the two corners together to make a triangle and then roll tightly.  Seal the top with a beaten egg yolk and Voila!    

Your eggroll should look like this.  See how easy that was? 😃

 Continue wrapping until you have a batch.  


Frying the eggrolls:

I use vegetable oil for frying my egg rolls.  You can use whichever oil you prefer.  Fry the egg rolls in low to medium heat until lightly browned and crispy turning the egg rolls occasionally (3 – 5 minutes).  I carefully place 6 or 7 egg rolls at a time.  Scoop them out and lay them in a skewer or pan with a napkin to absorb the excess oil.  Continue frying the rest until you run out of egg rolls.  

 

Eggrolls are usually served with sweet & sour sauce, but I eat them with sweetened chilli sauce Yumm!      

Everyone who tries my egg rolls have all fell in love with them! 😍😋  So enjoy them while they are fresh!!  They are great for party snacks, outings, and potlucks. Be creative with the ingredients and give this recipe a try.  If you love seafood, try it with shrimp!  The possibilities are endless. Have fun and enjoy!  

Happy Friday everyone!  😀🙂😉 

As always, thank you for your support – PLEASE UPVOTE, RESTEEM AND FOLLOW ME @xredsoulless    

"Part of the secret of success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside." -Mark Twain  

Sort:  

@xredsoulless - I want some! Looks tasty

I would share some with you, but you're too far away @joe01. I have plenty!! Nom nom nom :)

thanks. Yes, I am a ways away. I gotta say specifically - I really liked how you asked the question at the beginning of the article: Would you like some super crispy and crunchy egg rolls?. It seriously made me answer YAAAAS, in my head.

Lol, I'm glad it caught your attention :)

Oh Wow! These look good!

It is very delicious!! I recommend you to try it :) Thank you for stopping by @rangertx

Thanks for this post! It gives me the opportunity to remain active on steemit!
I don't think I'll try it but it looks very good though!
;-)

Why not try it @ notimecrypyo? It is very good hehe :)

Oh thanks for your reply haha!
You took the time, I might as well do it too and actually try it!

Lol. Yes, try it and let me know how it turns out!! :)

You know what? I will!

By the way, you seem quite active on Steemit so maybe you'll know:
if I put like 5000$ of Steem power, do you know how high my upvote will go (approximatively)?

I'm still learning how the Steemit system works exactly, but I know it will give you a boost to how much your upvote will be worth!

Looks delicious

Thanks so much @ janreyqm1. Definitely try it :)

This post received a 3.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @xredsoulless! For more information, click here!

i will try this recipe. looks great. thanks

Let me know how it turns out @captainfrank!! Cheers!

GREat post!

Your pics were so informative - well done

Thank you @princessmewmew
Cooking and taking pictures at the same time takes practice :)

Shredded carrots too yum. :)

Carrots are good for your eyes! Thanks for your comment @natevegas

You did an excellent job with this post. Resteeming this to 7700+ followers right now. :)

thanks for sharing @xredsoulless looks is so yummy👏👏👏

Thank you for your comment @ashlyncurvey.

We have a version of eggroll here in the philippines we call it "Lumpia" but we use vegetable inside

Very interesting!! Is it all vegan or what kind of vegetable do you use @sandaraclark

yes its vegan , i use carrot ,tofu,mongo sprout,egg , i hope when you visit phillippines you will try lumpia .. im sure you gonna love it we use special vinegar for dipping sauce.. nice to meet you hope we become friends so we can exchange yummy recipe..by the way your home made eggrolls look so yummy

Wow, that does sound yummy already hehe. I will definitely try it whenever I visit the Phillippines hun! <3

Thanks hun :)hope you remember me and give a feedback

followed you hope you follow me back!!!

Thanks for the great recipe. I love egg rolls! :-)

I'm glad you liked my post! Thank you @olinzodd

Very good post, good job!

Thanks for your comment! I really appreciate it @ henryking

Upvoted! We have the same interest! FOOD TRIP... i hope you will upvote my blog also.. 😊😇😊

Thank you so much @kennyroy. I will take a look at your post too.

Thank you so much... 😇😊😇

Im afraid to follow , this makes me so hungry! I gotta try this....45 rolls? how long do they last? Ok i decided im following ):

They go by very fast!! Lol. Thank you so much for your support @justoneopinion

just wanna to test

Hi! @xredsoulless-
it's looking so tasty I will surely try it at my home and thanks for sharing this with us......

I love how you showed us how to roll up the spring roll. :) Looks super yummy..I'm hungry already!!

emmmm Delicious :p

I want try this :))