Blog | (Quarantine Edition) Making Cinnamon Rolls Without An Oven

in #food4 years ago

Hello, everyone! I hope you and your friends and family are doing well, particularly to those whose hometowns and current residences are under lockdown due to quarantine.

It’s almost our third month being under many versions of quarantine here in the Philippines. And because it has been difficult to buy from most restaurants and stores, I have been trying to make various kinds of desserts/snacks from scratch.


IMG_20200613_151641.jpg

(From the left) (1) Dalgona Coffee, (2) Cookie crepe cake (just about to be piled), (3) Iced Mango Coffee, and (4) Chocolate cake

So, I have tried the following:

  • Dalgona Coffee
  • Fudge bar cake (where I tried making all purpose cream from milk, because it was not available in our local supermarkets for almost a month)
  • Cookie crepe cake (used pancake mix but still the crepe ended being too thick)
  • Pizza (using an actual sliced bread instead of the dough)
  • Mac and cheese (just using grated cheese and macaroni)
  • Iced mango coffee (found this in YouTube)
  • Chocolate cake (where the “cake” part tasted like a real one, but the chocolate ganache tasted really differently.

They were done with the simplest methods I can find across the internet with the ingredients that can be bought from our local supermarkets and with the use of other accessible equipment because we do not have an oven.

First Attempt! :)

So, to make my first ever set of cinnamon rolls without using yeast and an oven, I based the first method and list of ingredients from Juliese.tv's YouTube video: Easy Quick Cinnamon Rolls without YEAST Recipe

(DISCLAIMER: I personally do not know the owner/creator of this video, and I am simply sharing this info as my source.)

However, what I did not follow in the directions was using powdered sugar because I was unable to find one, and the part of using the oven because we didn't have one. Instead, I used a turbo broiler since according to the packaging, it can be used in the place of the oven.

I forgot to take pictures during the process, but this is one of the outcomes, resulting to 9 pieces of cinnamon rolls. ^_^


IMG_20200613_145622.jpg

(Left) Cinnamon rolls before putting it in the turbo broiler.
(Right) One of the cinnamon rolls as a result.

The top parts of the roll went a bit hard, but the insides were a bit soft. It might be because I used a turbo broiler. It could be different if an oven was used.

Second Attempt! :))

To be able to use all the evaporated milk and cream cheese that I have (so that it will not go to waste), I looked for a different method.

This time, the second method was from In the Kitchen with Matt with the video entitled Easy Quick Cinnamon Rolls Without Yeast Recipe | How to Make Cinnamon Rolls.

(Disclaimer again: I personally do not know the owner/creator of this video, and I am simply sharing this info as my source.)

So, I followed almost everything again except using the powdered sugar and oven.


IMG_20200612_161727.jpg

This is the second attempt before putting it in the turbo broiler.

This time, however, I added some chopped bits of Flat Tops to achieve a chocolate filling.


IMG_20200613_145647.jpg

(Left) This is how it looks like without the frosting. The melted flat tops are seen on the tops of the rolls. It was not burnt. :)
(Right) The frosting has now been added to the roll.

This time, it was a bit too sweet. Probably it was because of the chopped Flat tops within the roll. Maybe, I could have decreased the amount of sugar for the filling since I already intended to add chopped chocolate Flat tops from the beginning.

image.png

What have you been doing this quarantine? Have you been sleeping, thinking of ideas, or trying to work on yourself? Whatever it is that you have been trying to do, I hope you will be able to do it. Fighting! :))

Thank you for dropping by this post. If you liked it, don't forget to leave an upvote. Thank you! Have a safe day. :)