PowerHouseCreatives Contest | Damn Delicious (Contest Results)

in #food4 years ago (edited)


Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Serious Eats


Some of you may have noticed a flood of my recent cooking endeavors on Instagram or in the community server. I usually don't cook at home but as of this year, I've realized that I LOVE cooking and I'm beginning to try more and more complicated dishes. Take the Buttermilk Cream Chicken for example which I've done a few days ago. I've even invited some colleagues for dinner. It is my first time creating this dish and I enjoy cooking it up.





Mainly also because I love food in general. Which gives me the idea for this week's contest. From 5-star luxury food to homecooked delights, I want you to share your home cook meal with me. You must definitely include photos of the dish, the process and the ingredients. Talk about your dish and how you prepare it. It doesn't have to be complex. It can be as simple as a toasted bread while you add some creativity in introducing your dish.

Ready to bring out the chef in you?

PS : This contest is created only for the members of #powerhousecreatives.


Damn Delicious


 

Criteria :

  1. You must include photos of the dish.

  2. Entry must not be less than 350 words cause who knows, you might get curie or ocd :)

  3. Add a nice title to your entry. (Extra points for nice titles)

  4. The entry must include the process of how you cook the dish.

  5. Include ingredients as well.

  6. Introduce your dish

 

Submission :

  1. Your Entries(Steemit Post)are to be posted here in the 'community-contest' Channel.

  2. One entry is allowed per participant.

  3. This contest must be done as a Steemit Post.

  4. Post title must include 'PowerHouseCreatives Contest' but with your own title.

 

Rewards :

There will be Top 3 Favourites (1 Steem Each + 1 selected rank perk)

 

SPECIAL RANK PERKS :

will be able to win extra reward prizes according to their current rankings. Applicable only to first prize winners unless stated otherwise.

THE PEEPS ✩ : Normal Prize

ENTHUSIASTS ✩✩ : +1 Steem

BRONZE MEMBERS ✩✩✩ : +1.5 Steem

SILVER MEMBERS ✩✩✩✩ : +2 Steem

GOLD MEMBERS ✩✩✩✩✩ : +3 Steem

 

Deadline :

Sunday Night, 16/02/2020, 5.59PM (Cape Town) - Contest Ended


Top Favourite Picks (1 Steem Each + 1 Rank Perk)


Making Wontons by @bengy


IMG_20190714_133542.jpg
Photo by @bengy

In the cold winter months, there is nothing better than a bowl of noddles, veggies and wontons. Wonton are the Chinese take on the soup dumplings that seem to be a staple part of pretty every cuisine culture all over the world. Take some pastry and stick stuff in it... fry it, bake it, soup it, steam it!

Anyway, Wontons can be served up cooked in soup or deep fried for a nice snack! It is also a great thing to make a huge batch of, to store in the freezer for those moments when you just want to heat up a nice warm soup for a cold winter's lunch (or dinner.... or breakfast!).

A dish for 'zord189 and another for Aran by @zeleiracordero

IMG_20200212_174818519.jpg
Photo by @zeleiracordero
And who is @zord189? The creator of the challenge... And who's Aran? My grandson! Why another dish? Because this is the second time I've participated in a culinary challenge within Steem and I'm taking him as my muse to create something in the kitchen that he likes and that can be done with the reduced input these days... That's creativity! To make culinary magic with the little that arrives at our pantry because as everybody knows, the peanuts are very raw in Venezuela and so we have to eat them, (I exaggerate with the metaphor, but our eating habits have been changing due to socio-political circumstances)

A chili recipe you can use to win a cook-off! by @jayna

IMG_1917.JPG
Photo by @jayna
Here in the U.S., chili is a big deal. I would love to hear from you about what it's like in your area (U.S., elsewhere in North America, Central/South America or abroad), as to whether chili has cultural importance. Here there are chili cook-off events that you can take part in. The recipe I'm going to share with you here helped me win a chili cook-off at my job, among about 30 entries.
 

Honorable Mentions (0.5 Steem)


Rustic Chopped. by @oneray



Photo by @oneray

I don't know if this dish has already existed in another country as I have prepared it, but we loved the taste. It is simply a mixture of two things and we enjoyed it to the fullest for the taste it had.

The dish consists of rustic potatoes, roasted male banana, beef, pork and grilled sausages with a super seasoning that I prepare and distribute in some places of the market. Where there is a Venezuelan, eat meat with Adobo.

Healthylicious Chicken Tofu with Mixed Veggies by @iamraincrystal

chicken tofu with mixed veggies.jpg
Photo by @iamraincrystal
Thank you @zord189 for this timely contest. I have been doing a bit more homecooking lately to improve our diet. If you follow my feed, I shared a photo of another homecooked meal and mentioned about DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension) diet plan that my daughter subscribed to for a month. This was to keep her cholesterol level in check, as it was borderline during her last annual physical check up. We decided to alter our food intake in order to have an improved, healthier lifestyle.

For last night, I was scheduled to cook chicken tofu.

A pork leg baked in San Valentine´s by @carolinacardoza

Imagen5.jpg
Photo by @carolinacardoza
If life gives you lemons, learn to make lemonade and if life gives you a leg, then put it in the oven and eat it with a nice salad. That's what I did today my friends, perhaps many will be surprised to see me making pork leg at this time, but as I tell them, when something comes into your hands just enjoy it.

Half moon of corn by @antoniarhuiz

Slide1.JPG
Photo by @antoniarhuiz

Venezuelan food in essence is very simple but delicious; it does not require big or strange condiments and although it seems to be the same seasoning, it all depends on the individuality of each person. For example, the typical empanadas are basically corn dough but the taste is in the filling. There are empanadas made with cheese, fish, chorizo, meat, cheese, squids and many other shapes.

Pesto Picking Time - From the Garden to the Table by @porters

multi herb pesto.JPG
Photo by @porters
I like to use multiple herbs in my pesto and the herbs I have ready in the garden is rosemary, lemon thyme, arugula and cilantro along with the basil.Once I have my pesto pickings done I need to round up my ingredients for making zoodles. Zoodles (zucchini cut like noodles) are my Keto alternative to use instead of high in carbs - noodles.

Oven baked Fish Fillet with Lemon Butter Sauce by @ireenchew

Copy of Mountainous CD Cover 4.36.14 PM.png
Photo by @ireenchew
Being in Vietnam and all alone by myself, home cooking is an essential survival kit. After all, I can't be eating out all the time. Thankfully, I love cooking though cooking for one person can be difficult at times and dull. Nevertheless, it's a good therapy since retail therapy just isn't fun here.

Awesome Banana Pudding by @justclickindiva

Copy of PIFCJustClickindivaLogo 1.png
Photo by @justclickindiva
Apologies in advance everyone, but I have a dish that my family calls "damn delicious." They like my home cooked meals, but their favorite dishes of mine are my desserts. And one in particular, my dessert to die for -- my banana pudding.

Delicious homemade beet arepitas. by @marybellrg


Photo by @marybellrg
The arepa is a dish that is a tradition in Venezuelan cuisine. While it's true that other countries claim the origin of it, it's no less true that in Venezuela, my country, it's a star icon in all kitchens, from the most humble to the most sophisticated.

Thank You


Despite the recent major announcement of Steemit.Inc getting purchased by @justinsunsteemit, the Steem community will continue to cook up interesting and original content like this one. The strength of the Steem community lies in the content creation by these amazing people.
Thank you for sending in your original and awesome entries once again for PowerHouseCreatives weekly contest. I hope you all had a fun time curating Steemians and highlighting your favourite go to Steemians. We love your constant support and participation from all of you for this weekly contest. Please do drop by and give all these amazing entries some nice loving and engage with these amazing authors. Even better, give them a follow if you're all about the quality content on Steem.

Want to join our awesome family?


If you want to be part of this awesome community, PowerHouseCreatives is always interested to meet people with amazing personalities and great content creators. If you want to know how to join us? Head on over to @jaynie, our PowerHouseCreatives founder profile and be on the lookout for an invitation link post.

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2020/02/17/powerhousecreatives-contest-damn-delicious-contest-results/

Sort:  

Congratulations to the winners and thanks so much for the honorable mention @zord189!

Thanks for picking my entry! So many interesting and delicious looking ideas to try out from all around the world!

Haha, you make me miss the chinese dumplings/wontons. They're usually so good and soupy with soya sauce.... hmmm

No... no soy sauce! Oyster sauce is the best!

Thanks @zord189 for the Honorable Mention for my dessert dish. I appreciate the spotlight and exposure.

Congratulations to the 3 winners of this contest: @bengy; @zeleiracordero; and @jayna. I was going to submit my famous chili recipe @jayna, being from Texas; but switched at the last moment.

Also, congratulations to the honorable mentions and all other participants who entered your best bishes.

Haha yay! Feel free to post about your famous chilli recipe though. Would love to see it and try it out!

Immensely grateful and pleased with the mention given to my recipe. I loved participating, dear @zord189. These initiatives make us have fun in a place that we often shun or only execute because of domestic obligations. A thousand thanks for the opportunity, delighted to be in this beautiful community and to participate actively. Congratulations to all the winners, spectacular and delicious recipes without a doubt. A hug for everyone.

You're welcome! Thank you for supporting this weekly contest and I'm glad you're enjoying yourself in the community! Will be announcing the next weekly contest soon, so keep an eye out!

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

你好鸭,zord189!

@bossku给您叫了一份外卖!

@ericet 村长 迎着飓风 开着的士 给您送来
希腊酸奶

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

Thanks, friend @zord189, for the mention. I had fun with this challenge even though I don't like to cook but I do like to eat ha ha ha.

Hahah! Thank you for taking part in this contest still!

Congratulations @zord189! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post was the most upvoted of the day

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I'm feeling hungry seeing all the posts together. ;)

Hehehe, me too. I'm glad it's almost dinner time.

THANK YOU, @zord189! Congratulations to all the participants, especially my fellow winners: @bengy and @jayna. This challenge was really extraordinary.
...We won, Jayna! Woohooo

Congrats to you too! Hope to see you in the next contest :)

Thank you so much, @zord189! What a fun contest. I am honored to see my recipe mentioned!

Congrats to you too! :)

All the recipes were great, they're all really good cooks.

I agree, simple food to complex food, they're all still up my alley :)

Congratulations @zord189!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 2 with 1188 upvotes

Wow !! SO many entries. Guess everyone loves food and cooking as well !!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment