FoodChallenge #1 entry: Exotic and Fresh

in #foodchallenge8 years ago

20160811_152529-01

The truth is, I would kill for some bacon and eggs right now. We have been living it on the simple side of life in exchange for an opportunity to spend a month in unspoilt paradise here on Tioman Island, Malaysia.

Don't get me wrong, I love Malaysian breakfast. Roti Canai is out of this world, and a treat for the taste buds, but food is something deeply rooted in our psyche, and after a month, the red-blooded Canadian in me has been craving a good ol' fashioned maple smoked bacon with poached eggs, drip coffee and shredded hash browns. I often scan the #food category on Steemit looking for a mere glimpse of my go-to breakfast. So far, I've found nothing.

But it's not all bad, Roti Canai can be filled with a multitude of decadent fillings, for breakfast I usually opt for scrambled eggs. It's amazing how much oil goes into it but, that's what makes it so tasty.

20160811_152358-01

The sauce is really what gets me salivating, the recipe is basic and you can make it without potatoes if you don't like a heavy breakfast. It's a shock to the western pallette so early in the morning, but it is so tasty, anytime of day will suffice.

20160811_152413-01

The fruit salad here on Tioman is as fresh as it gets, and the pineapple juice tastes like it was squeezed in the backyard garden. Watermelons, green apples, pineapples, oranges and bananas mixed together in a healthy assortment almost make you feel like you didn't just consume half a cup of cooking oil. Almost. Besides, it's the guilty pleasures in life that make the simplicity of living here all the more worth while. I welcome you all to try it out, and if you feel appreciative for the links;

Send Bacon.

if you'd like to follow me or join the #steemittalentchallenge , check out my blog

Sort:  

Now I'm hungry.

So no bacon in the mail then?

I ate it, sorry!

You've got a busy weekend of curating photos ahead of you mate, (and sifting through mistagged content) you'll need all the calories you can get.

AND I've gotta make that hula-hoop origami smoke ring yodeling video AND make a nice breakfast to take pictures of. It's gonna be a busy one!

I was thinking of submitting a "hula-hoop origami smoke ring yodeling video" myself since I was still coming up short on serpents for my snake juggling act. Hmmm... Maybe I'll switch to venomous snakes, though I was hoping that I wouldn't have to.

I think I've got to go make mine now. I'll just have to go out in the woods and get some ingredients first. It looks delicious!!

Thanks! Doesn't get any more organic than that! Leaves of three, let it be!

Hopefully I've learned that lesson enough times. All summer, every summer, I can usually find Poison Ivy somewhere (on my body).

Out picking Saskatoon's a 12 year old, you never forget this lesson. If you do get Rashed, make a post about it!

Good idea, maybe that could be my talent. I once rubbed it on my face as a kid. It really didn't work out well.