Food of Mexico: chipotle, spicy staple of many Mexican dishes

in #foodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers!

I recently took this shot of a can with marinated chipotle that will, hopefully, make a good entry for today´s #foodphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests.

IMG_20170716_091137.jpg
Click on the image for full view

While chipotle is one of the staples here in Mexico, it might be relatively unknown in other parts of the world so here is some brief info.

Meaning “smoked chilli” in the original Aztec language, chipotle is basically smoked and dried jalapeno pepper. Mostly produced in the Mexican state of Chihuahua, chipotle is one of key ingredients in many recipes, adding mild (by Mexican standards) to very strong (by European standards :D ) spiciness to the dish.

My favorite use of this iconic Mexican food is to mix marinated chipotle (known as adobados) with lime mayonnaise and serve it as a sauce with nachos.

If you are interested in Mexican cuisine, let me know in the comments and I will come up with some more posts on this topic.


Czech: Tak dnes tu mám opět něco pro naše kuchtíky. Všichni asi znáte pálivé mexické papričky jalapenos, ale ne každý už možná slyšel o chipotle. Chipotle jsou vyuzené sušené jalapenos. Používají se v celé řadě receptů, ale my je máme nejradši smíchané s limetkovou majonézou (jinou tu v podstatě ani neseženete) jako pikantní omáčku k nachos (něco na způsob kukuřičných čipsů). Pokud vás mexická kuchyně zajímá, rád v budoucnu sepíšu další posty na toto téma. Hezký den a dobrou chuť :)

Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Tohle už vypadá nebezpečně:-)) Ale uplatnění by se jistě našlo! Teď jsi mi připoměl srbskou okurkovou majonézu, mňam, tyhle národní věcičky, to já mám moc rád!

Hmm, okurková majonéza zní taky dobře :D Holt sto národů, sto chutí :)

@cleverbot do you like spicy food?

Do you like jalapenos?

Pictures of what?

Why do you think so?

Reading this got me hungry. About 20 years ago Mexican restaurants started opening up here in East Kentucky. Now there is at least one in pretty much every county. The one that came into my hometown changed the way I eat dramatically. I even sold hot peppers to them for a couple years. I have wondered though if the dishes we get are like an Americanized style of Mexican food, kind of the way our Chinese food is. I people offer things you can't get at oter restaurants. I always assumed it was because the owners were from a different region.

Never been to a Mexican restaurant in the US so I cant really say but I think the dishes might be a bit "customized" outside Mexico. There is only one way to find out - come to Mexico to see (and taste) for yourself :)) Btw what peppers do you grow?

I would like to visit Mexico for at least a month. I have no idea were to go though. I have a friend whose wife is Mexican and he loves it down there. I don't know were she's from, but she's appalled at the price avocados in the U.S.
The peppers I grew were jalapeno, habanero, and cayenne . I came in a couple days after dropping off the peppers, and ordered a dish called Chili Colorado. I can't be sure but I'm confident they loaded my meal down with some of the habanero as a joke. I was sweating while I ate. They keep looking over at me and grinning, and then the manager came over and gave me some tips on dealing with the heat. He brought me some salsa, and that worked pretty well.

Hahaha, that reminds of me struggling with the spiciness I when came here a year ago :)) I can handle it with ease now... in fact, I love it! :))

You made a good point with price of avocado. Actually not only avocados but most fruits... the prices here are ridiculous... you can have 1 kg of most tropical fruits (limes, pineapples, mangos, bananas) for literally 0.5 to 1 usd. You should really come ;)

I liked spicy then but I love it know. I've had to take breaks from hot sauce before.

To je takové to něco, co hoří i bez škrtání sirkou?;-)

:D presne tak @bucipuci Super si to vystihol!

Tak to nemusím. Bohatě mi stačí pepř ;-)

@bucipuci Ver, že čipotle sa s žiadnym korením nedá porovnávať! :D
Ak budeš mať niekedy možnosť, určite vyskúšaj, budeš prekvapený intenzitou chuti !! :)

Přesně :) A pak hoříš i ty a někdy i všechno kolem :D Ale dá se na to zvyknout, mně už to teď ani nepřijde, jím to skoro denně a už si jídlo bez pálivé omáčky nebo papriček vlastně ani neumím představit :D

Už jsme to tu probírali s tvou přítelkyní ;-)

Já mám docela ráda pálivá jídla, ale otázka je - jak moc pálivá? Na ty extra pálivá jsem si zatím moc netroufla. O Chipotle jsem nikdy neslyšela, ale vypadá to zajímavě.

No než by ses pustila do chipotle, tak doporučuju zmnohonásobit dávky pepře, na které jsi zvyklá :D

It is always good to know that people from other countries like our food :) and more if you talk about spicy

Hi, thanks for the comment :) as far as I remember, you are the first Mexican commenting on my Mexican posts :D I have been living on Riviera Maya for a year now and I absolutely love this place, including the spicy food! :))

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 17:03:13
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 878.70/1600.00
Total Photos: 61
Total comments: 170
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 1.86% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @phortun!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.