You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What wine do you bring to a BBQ?

in #foodphotography6 years ago

Such a hipster way of thinking about it. Only the new wave of barbecue places, for example, in San Francisco, or even here in Sonoma County, even carry spirits. The concept of pairing bourbon with BBQ is very new school. So SXSW :) I'm surprised they didn't go as far as saying mezcal - the king of smoked spirits.

Growing up in the Midwest (one step from the South) I don't think a single barbecue joint I went to even had a license for spirits - it was always beer. Today, you're lucky to find a screw cap half bottle of cheap red wine. I don't think I ever had an option of having a bourbon with my ribs when I was visiting St. Louis, Chicago, New Orleans or Memphis.

While I have enjoyed a big, bold Sonoma County syrah and/or zinfandel with many a barbecue dish (they can stand up to the smoke, you just need to know the right wines by the wine producer and climate - trust me, they can compete) my favorite pairing in the end is a pilsner, lager or kolsch.

I also think drinking Pappy with hometown barbecue would do a disservice to both the bourbon and the barbecue. LOL.

Sort:  

What's wrong with Mezcal being the king of smoked spirits ;)

Definitely is a new/hipster trend with Andrew Knowlton (from Georgia) saying the same thing
as you—"When I grew up in Georgia, you would never go to a BBQ restaurant and find alcohol. You go to have barbecue just to eat… it seems kind of like a weird pairing on the surface of things."

Growing up in Texas it was either beer (your Dad beers (Miller Lite, Bud Lite, Coors Lite)) and tea. Maybe you'd get some kool-aid. And I agree with you that a beer is awesome when it comes to the climate (give me a Real Ale or Lone Star and BBQ and I'm happy). But I have enjoyed my share of bourbon with BBQ–I think that it is a solid pairing and one I'd take over wine if given my choice.

(Seriously though, a good Mezcal is a mighty fine thing).

Yay! So screw hipster bourbon pairings - cheap beer to wash down the goodness :) hifive

I'm not a huge huge huge mezcal enthusiast, but appreciate the flavors and really like seeing how it's grown market-wise. Give me a tequila Añejo and I'm a happy girl!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<