You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foraging Frozen Shaggy Mane Mushrooms

in #foraging7 years ago

Hi @dswigle!
I have been foraging for about three years and still consider myself a beginner. I have several books that I use to identify the mushrooms. But for me, that is not enough. I also know a few foraging experts and I always bring my finds to them and tell them what I think the mushroom is based on my research. They will confirm what I have guessed or tell me why I am wrong.
I also joined a local mycological group. They are a wealth of information as well.

You can get started with the "National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Mushrooms" By Gary H. Lincoff and just collect and try to identify mushrooms. You do not have to eat them at first. Just get comfortable with the id. Also, try to learn about just one mushroom at a time. So, maybe start with morels in the springtime and read everything you can about them.

Thanks for your comment!

Sort:  

The pleasure is mine! Thank YOU for so much good information!