Foraging Frozen Shaggy Mane Mushrooms

in #foraging7 years ago (edited)

I did not intend to find any choice edible mushrooms when I headed up to my family's lake house in north-east Pennsylvania yesterday morning. The reason was that it was 19F when I left to go up there and when I arrived, two hours later, it had warmed up to an icy 20F. I was there to do some fall yard cleanup work and looking for mushrooms was not on my mind.

While I was clearing some leaves, I spotted some mushrooms near the garage. When I looked more closely they appeared to be Shaggy Mane mushrooms. I then expanded my search around the garage and then to a larger area on the property. I ended up finding 12 mushrooms in total. They were all located along the driveway and they were all frozen solid! I collected them and I put them into the freezer. They can be added to a soup.

After I had collected a few, I took this picture of the mushrooms on the hood of my car.
All the mushrooms I collected yesterday looked pretty young. They must of popped up early last week up until Wednesday when the temperature was around 55F. Thursday began the freezing temperatures and the mushrooms froze and were preserved.

For a contrast, below are some Shaggy Mane mushrooms that I collected a few weeks ago in upstate New York. These mushrooms were a lot older.

Shaggy Mane mushrooms are know as Coprinus Comatus. You can find out more information about this mushroom here: http://www.mushroomexpert.com/coprinus_comatus.html

Thank you for stopping by today. I am a beginner forager and would appreciate any comments from more experience foragers about this mushroom or any other foraging tips or information.

Thank you,
Steve

Sort:  

You are a brave soul! I am bats*it scared of picking the wrong kind and getting sick or poisoning my self. I wish I knew more about it.

My grandparents did it and mother did, but, I never got really interested in it until I found the joys of what homestreading is really all about!

Hi @dswigle!
I have been foraging for about three years and still consider myself a beginner. I have several books that I use to identify the mushrooms. But for me, that is not enough. I also know a few foraging experts and I always bring my finds to them and tell them what I think the mushroom is based on my research. They will confirm what I have guessed or tell me why I am wrong.
I also joined a local mycological group. They are a wealth of information as well.

You can get started with the "National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Mushrooms" By Gary H. Lincoff and just collect and try to identify mushrooms. You do not have to eat them at first. Just get comfortable with the id. Also, try to learn about just one mushroom at a time. So, maybe start with morels in the springtime and read everything you can about them.

Thanks for your comment!

The pleasure is mine! Thank YOU for so much good information!

Glad that you know which are the safe ones to eat!

It takes a long time to feel confident picking mushrooms for eating. I still double check my mushrooms with experts. But, I only really target a few choice edible mushrooms.

And I bet they taste heavenly!

They do! What I learned so far is that there are many types of edible mushrooms but only a few that are super delicious. So, I just go for the best mushrooms. It is much safer that way and tastier!

Making my mouth water. :-)

Thanks for sharing this. I, too, have some and wasn't confident whether they're edible or not. Glad I'm not alone. Had to consult my co-worker and got more information about them.

Good idea. You can never be too careful when considering to eat wild mushrooms.

I love all kinds of mushrooms but I leave the picking to someone more knowledgable than me...

Smart idea!
“All mushrooms are edible, but some only once.” Croatian proverb

When I see posts like this, I wish I lived in countries where I could forage for mushrooms like this chef! Simply amazing!

I know exactly what you mean! For me, I feel the same way when I see exotic fish, vegetables and fruits from the tropics.

it can be eaten but when they are youg (no dark like ink)
just fried in pan

Shaggy manes are such good mushrooms! How convenient to have the freezing weather to preserve those Shaggy Manes in such great shape! I bet you make some good food with them!

I haven't found any this autumn, so I like seeing yours! I learned just this year that the black ink from the auto-digestion of the Shaggy Manes is actually good! So I am excited to try that out myself. When they turn black, it's not rot -- it's just how they spread their spores. Other mushrooms are a different story -- when they turn to liquid, that's bad news for eating, lol! Enjoy your mushroom foraging!

Nice foraging! And it's nice to see a photo of a shaggy mane just emerging from the soil. It's good you looked around the first one you saw. These mushrooms often grow in groups, just like you found them. Enjoy eating your shaggy manes!

Nice one! I would love to learn foraging as well. I plan on growing lions mane, shiittake and oysters in the near future :)

Do you still use lions mane daily?

Hey! I have been so busy lately that I have not posted or done much on Steemit. I saw you have some new content and I'll be reading it soon! I'm working on a health benefits of bone broth post...

I am also going to start growing mushrooms in the new year. Lions mane and oysters to start. Yes, I drink Lions mane and Chaga every morning and at night I have my wine replacement, Reishi tea. The reishi really takes the edge off and is for me like having two glasses of wine, without the negative affects of alcohol. I got a book by Paul Stamets called, "Growing Gourmet and Medicinal Mushrooms". I'll use that to help with the mushroom growing.

Interesting, thank you for the tips! Yeah I hear a lot of positive stuff too about the bone broth.
I maybe order the book as well :)
After a long time I wrote an article again with pay out :), a recipe for insomnia & anxiety with cannabis & lavender.
I found new inspiriration to start again hehe..