THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS 26 - BLACK RASPBERRY

in #foraging7 years ago

Who doesn't love free tasty berries?


As always with this series, I am not trying to give dietary, nutritional, or medical advice. I’m just enjoying learning about wild edibles and sharing my journey.

Recently, @bluerthangreen and @papa-pepper were out cutting some lawns in Missouri. There, right next to the grass, was a hidden treasure out in the woods. The Black Raspberry (Rubus occidentalis) was always one of my favorite wild berries growing up. On this adventure, we found a whole pile of them!

In the woods with some Black Raspberries.


BASIC INFO


Black Raspberries are a member of the Rubus family and are closely related to the common Red Raspberries. The are a perennial shrub that is covered in thorns, much like many of its relatives. These thorns will not deter me very much, they they sure try sometimes.

HABITAT


The Black Raspberry is native to the Eastern part of North America. Often, it can be found growing in the under-story level of the woods, along the forest floor. The shoots also spread by runners, so it is not uncommon to find a whole patch hidden in the woods somewhere.

Though they have three leaves, they are not to be confused with Poison Ivy. Check out this great post from @bluerthangreen for more info on Poison Ivy.

Additionally, they may be able to be found in other desolate areas, where yards or lots have been left unattended. Often, abandoned lots of far corners of properties can be goldmines for those looking to forage.

USES


Black Raspberries are a common food berry in many areas. They are delicious fresh off the plant but can also be used in pies, fruit salad, and other delicious dishes. Because of certain properties, the Black Raspberry is also used in supplements.

I enjoy them now just as I did as a child. I enjoy happening upon them out in the wild and enjoying a marvelous free snack out in the woods. Hopefully, we can get some growing on our homestead too, and have a yearly supply for generations to come!

NUTRITIONAL CONTENT


Black Raspberries are high in iron and ellagic acid. The amounts of ellagic acid have been noted because it can be used to slow the growth of cancerous tumors. They also contain Vitamin A & C, but in smaller quantities.

For those with a sweet tooth, Black Raspberries have natural fruit sugar, and they also provide some fiber. Their darker color comes from anthocyanins which are an antioxidant that fights against free radicals.

source

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-black-raspberries

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

very important post these are! Thank you for reminding what is out there!

Loading...

This information is very important to me. thanks

wow... @papa-pepper

Black Raspberries is really packed with nutrients...if one is always in the habit of taking such fruit..no way for malignant tumors and or cancer...they are very good indeed..thank you for shariing..

why waste time grabbing berries when you can go to mcdonalds?

Here in Oregon, we call them Blackberries. Grown on, what we call, sticker bushes that grow wild. You can go out and pick as many as you like just right in every backyard I have lived in so far. the stores can't even sell them because they grow with such abundance here. Great article!

I didn't see a single thorn, and I have seen thornless blackberries and they didn't look like that plant.

You are right. The black raspberry and blackberries are different plants. The black raspberries make a little cup when they come off the plant, like a regular red raspberry. A real blackberry doesn't have a cup shape. Black raspberry thorns aren't very big. They are even less thorny than a red raspberry, but they do have little stickers. Not like those big, strong blackberry thorns! :O

You are doing great buddy..I checked out your posts and sent in my blessings..keep steeming and powering up...success to you

upvoted.. I grew up in the south.. I have stories about picking blackberries and the cobbler OMG
I just realized your wrote black raspberry ..hmmm not sure I have had that

yes me too, i have not heard about it.

It's the same thing just them northerners messing with the words. They probably wash it down with a "pop" :P

I was wrong...blackberries and black raspberries are 2 different things but look very similar.

Very Informative post on berries! Hey, Speaking of Berries Check out my RARE HAWAIIAN BANANA post. Bananas are technically berries too! Followed

Delicious! Nothing better than a stroll with the dog while eating your weight in berries :) love it!

Hi there ✌🏻 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer! I'm not flooding/spaming, I'm just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver 🐶🐶🐶 Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested in them! Thanks a lot ❤️

I hope we also have them here..

I went to college at Humboldt State University in Northern California where there was a large amount of wild blackberries growing. I just the Pacific Northwest forrests are the perfect climate for these little guys to grow. I never ate them because I was a little scared to get poisoned, lol. Many people nin the small community used to eat them all the time!

everyone love it!

Awesome blog!!

I grow black raspberries in my garden and in this time of the year I just become a happier person. 😎

Great post & pictures as usual!
I love me some berries off the vine.
Thanks for sharing & steem on :)

I love black raspberries! Our neighbors used to have them in their backyard. When I were a kid we used to go to their backyard and eat some. Ah the memories :D.

wow...do you still find them now @callmefib3r

So you know the raspberries too well.

Me too. They were on the property line with our neighbor growing up. They didn't eat them, do we did. Great memories!

Is that the same as a Blackberry or is it something different?

Here in Louisiana we just call them Black Berries. Like you, we used to spend days picking these things. They can be turned into muffins, pies, jellies, jams, juice...pretty much the same as any other berry but straight from the vine was always the best!

We have Blackberries too, but Black Raspberries are actually a raspberry.

I had to Google it to see the difference. They looked exactly the same to me. Now I want to try some :P

Oh, black raspberries! We planted three bushes in an empty spot in the yard, this being the third year and we have already made two cases of jam and they are still putting out! I love to eat off the land! Great blog! Thank you!!!!

AND FREE!!!!

That sounds incredible! Great job!

Thank you! I found a huge patch of wild ones this year and was contemplating moving two into my patch.

I love black rasberry. We do have then here in Kenya too, found in the forested areas. Didn't know they were that nutritious. Thank you for sharing. Cheers

Very cool. Glad that you can enjoy them too!

Great post! We were just talking about berry picking!

Nice hunt!!!

Delicious! My favorite ice cream is Blackberry (From Schwanns) But I learned they make terrible daquiris (The wild variety) You wind up with a blender full of seeds!

I believe it!

The raspberry looks so fresh. They make my mouth watery. Thanks for sharing.

They are so delicious!

I have the wild variety, but also planted 3 ones that I bought this year. Hoping to have ton of berries next year.

I am spoiled my wife makes a green smoothie every morning with berries! Great article, thanks.

I remember eating these by the handful as a kid. We had a few bushes growing in the hedge row in our back yard so there was always plenty to be had on a hot summer day.

You're right about abandoned properties being a goldmine. I bought a house that hadn't been lived in for 8 years. The yard was overgrown. I'm finding black raspberries growing all over. It's really neat.

Thank you for sharing this, and I enjoyed the read!

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

Berry Salads are great in the summer !

Great post looking forward to going through your back posts. Please don't think I'm copying you when I go Salmon berry picking this week I swear I was already planning to.

No problem. Lol!

we always go raspberry and blackberry picking here in the uk in autumn! It is great fun! And the best part is we get to bake apple and raspberry/blackberry crumble for pudding yum yum yum...

Reading this cause it might help me go fwd in Steem pocalypse.

Ooooh - they're so good! We found a bunch of them - and wineberries - in the brush around the house. Made TWO lovely pies with our pickings last weekend. I wasn't totally sure what they were until I researched. We've also got blackberries, but they're different - the berry balls (oh gawd) are more pronounced. With the black raspberry, they're tightly packed (can't stop). The wineberry was another new one for me - do you have any of those? They're in the raspberry family and taste so good!

Great post ..very informative! I've never heard of a black raspberry until now..looks tasty ..but clearly it offers more then that as far as health goes ...awesome :) :)

Ah, how apt... This week's SCC 'newbie special' theme is berries! Perhaps you may inspire some newbies to get berry gathering!!! Nice post @papa-pepper, I do enjoy your edible outdoors series. And it's great to see you're getting good rewards again... so many people left but you stayed and you were right with your hopefulness for the future of Steemit :-) It was very encouraging to hear, as I even debated leaving myself! Glad I didn't!

And the proof photo was taken first, before picking, there is still some on the vine, before eating, no stain on the lips.
They should grow from seed, if you can not eat some, that is the hard bit.

These also grow in the UK, we call them blackberries.
One of my neighbours used to make pretty good home made wine out of them.

Blackberries are a different kind of berry over hear. Blackberries are one kind, raspberries another, and then black raspberries are different from both.

I really enjoyed this post, someday I want to do a foraging on my own but for the meantime, I'd like to equip myself with a whole lot of information first. Sadly our city is highly urbanized and I lack time to go to ideal foraging areas. Thank you for this! Those look sumptuous, guess I'll just settle for a jar of jam.

Cool post, thank you for sharing! I picked these today out of our woods, wild mulberries and blackberries. The blackberries are a bit sour but the mulberries are very sweet.
()

Super fun and happy post! Totally reminded me of childhood summers when we had wild blackberry bushes everywhere. We made pies, jam or just ate them out of our hands! Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and followed!

Those sound delicious! I love free food, it's my favorite price!

I am so glad you called these things out for being raspberries. They do not deserve to be called blackberries, because no matter how ripe they get, their sweetness is never enough for me.

Maybe if I think raspberry (instead of the local term... wild blackberry), then I can eat them in peace and enjoy them for what they are.

They taste nothing like the "dewberries" I used to eat as a kid. And I could never understand why these "blackberries" were so nasty in comparison.

There are 2 pages
Pages