Poison Ivy !! What a tasty treat ! NOT!!

in #foraging7 years ago

As I have been enjoying my property and neighborhood lately, I have noticed the poison ivy is rather ferocious this year. (Which I contribute to the abundance of rain we have had lately!)but ,anyway as we were walking by the lake last night my wife suggested that I do a post on Poison ivy so here it is!IMG_20170529_184454.jpg First off , let me start by saying I personally have never had poison ivy and hope I never do, but my wife gets it just by saying the words, (no not really , but it seems that way!) She gets it in the dead of winter from the firewood and off the carpet from our shoes and dog! So with that being said , she is the source of my information , She has studied a lot and I mean a lot on the subject. A lot of people say to use jewel weed , which is a good remedy as it does grow near poison ivy, but in our house we use Fels- Naptha soap! ( a quick disclaimer I do not work for purex the makers of this soap and l am not being paid by them either, even tho I think I should be , I"ve bought enough of the stuff to have stock in the company)IMG_20170604_114843.jpg Immediately after exposure wash relentlessly with it , it has nuclear power at stripping the oil from the plant from your skin and it also helps dry up the rash! She also wipes the rash with rubbing alcohol and takes small amounts of antihistamines ( I have stock in these companies as well, no just kidding again) Well I hope this post well help some of you out there and keep on enjoying Gods beautiful playground , I am @provider and have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Man poison ivy is the WORST. I thought I was immune then spent a day pulling it out of the ground. Guess how that went?

I learned afterwards that, unlike most things, people lose their "immunity" the more they are exposed to it. So if youve never had it, best to still keep away and hold onto that immunity.

Another fun fact is that goats LOVE to eat PI and it is harmless to them (nutritional in fact). I used to think about starting a goat rental business for folks in you situation. No joke!

So if you have a buddy with a goat, see if you can loan it for a few hours :)

That is how my wife got it the first time too! She was sweating and kept wiping her face with her hands , not good! It is systemic know in her! Thanks for the advice @adventureevryday ! I will consider that.

Oh no, poor girl! That's a recipe for disaster.

Congratulations @provider! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!