Julia Ink Blots (with details and process)

in #fractal6 years ago

3.png

Julia Ink Blots

by @nyarlathotep
A fractal made in JWildFire


In JWildFire, the application I use for fractals, you make pictures by combining two or more transformations. Each transformation consists of one or more mathematical formulas that apply some effect on the colors of the picture, creating shapes, patterns, transitions, etc; these formulas are called variations.

One of my favorite variations is Julia, which applies the properties of the JuliaSet to the fractal; even small differences in the variables that make up a Julia Set, can have great effects in the final result.

Here we have a fractal with three transformations, the third one is Julia. In this example, the relative weight of the Julia transformation is 1, against 12 & 10 of the other two. Thus, the effects of Julia are minimal:
image.png

When the relative strength of Julia increases, its properties become more clear: see the circles whose circumference is made up of other circles, whose circum. is made up of other circles, etc ad infinitum. Check out the details below to see this in ... detail!

image.png

Did you notice the colored triangles in the images above? These are one of the ways you can control how the transformations behave. You can move the triangle around, rotate it or scale it to have different effects. I said that even small changes in the Julia variables can produce great differences in the final result, so let's see this.

Here I simply moved and rotated the triangle (the green one) without changing any other parameters of the fractal and the result I got is this:
image.png

Moving it more and scaling it gave me this:
image.png

I think the changes are obvious. Isn't it the greatest fascination ever? Or I am a simple fractal nerd?

Details:


1.jpg
2.jpg

Sort:  

I've got Ginabot telling me every time anyone says fractal art and usually it's just the normal spammy images so many people spew out and call 'art' .. But I am very glad I decided to check this one out this time! Congratz @nyarlathotep ... You are obviously going beyond the randomise button ;) ... JWildFire is one of my favourites to use too, along with Mandelbulb 3D ... Just judging from this post, I think you will very much like my piece entitled "Amortvoir" from my Fine Art gallery. Go to my site, mandelsage.com if you're interested ;) (In fact, I'll drop a screenshot at the bottom of this comment.)

And I'm 100% in agreement with @adamada .. It takes a lot of time to master making art with fractals..... And with @insaneworks too: The world needs more fractal nerds! ^_^

Thank you very much, it means a lot coming from someone with your talent in fractal art. I have been trying to avoid the usual "randomize button" art we see all over, and I am so glad you noticed that in my posts. I like not only "Amortvoir" but the whole package in your site; I have been experimenting with mandala-like fractals as well, but yours put mine to shame :) Great work! Whenever I think I've reached a good level, I see what more can be done and start all over -- it's a good thing, I am not complaining! My next goal is to learn MB3D, I feel like a whole new world waits there...

:D You are a fractal nerd and exactly the type of nerd I'd love to converse with about fractals. I used be fascinated with their forms and though of pursuing fractal art. But my love for other art forms was more important. I had fun days tinkering with the numbers :D

It's never too late to take it up again, the modern application allow for great flexibility and options. I have always been thinking that fractal backdrops or details can be used to compliment other art forms, especially in digital art. My avatar-provider (!) @katharsisdrill did some experimentation for The One with the 1000 Faces.

So many thing to learn and I don't have the luxury of time. I do agree with you that there are a lot of ways to apply fractals to digital art. They can even compliment the magic circles in anime. Your avatar is creepy and I like it that way. Congratulations on the successful collab.

Ever considered using the artisteem platform for showcasing your fractal art?

Isn't it the greatest fascination ever? Or I am a simple fractal nerd?

Yes and yes!

But the world needs fractal nerds! The world doesn't know it, but without fractals, there would literally be nothing! NOTHING I SAID!

I love this. It's like fractal marble. Thou your name "Julia Ink Blots" is better. If this would be a floor pattern or a huge wall art piece, I would not do anything else than stare it. Day and night! :) And I hope you know that I am serious, not sarcastic. This time. :)

But the world needs fractal nerds! The world doesn't know it, but without fractals, there would literally be nothing!

Heh, this sounds like a tagline for a superhero movie!

"OMG! Look! It's The Fractal Spiralman, we are saved!"

It does! :D What would be his superpower? Fractalizing?

well! it seems way too confusing then simple ..then again confusing !!lols
hallucination trip i guess!
great stuff ....

It's 0 then 1... then 0, then 1... then 0, then 1...

I dare not walk the thin lines of geometry that you so fearlessly indulge in. Fractal nerdery is a dangerous road to walk. One day my wife came home and I had made more than fifty papercuts, white paper all over the place... she was in doubt if I had gone mad or if I had become a pufter. I fear that behind the unworldly beauty there are other kinds of beauty... perfect and clean. All too clean.

Numbers & formulas are as clean as it can get. And perfect. And there is no end to them. And we are just finite and small and weak and only a few...

And the strange angles... the angles - pure, bewitching, leading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nyarlathotep from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.