You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freetown Christiania!!!! Copenhagen!!!! A Self-proclaimed Autonomous Neigborhood!!!!

in #freedom7 years ago

Thank you @princessmewmew

They do have their own money but this is more of a tourist thing, they accept Danish Kroner, Europe and visa and I'm sure Bitcoin is also used :)

You could easily live there without having to leave, this place has it all :)

Thanks for the support and resteem.

Bless.

Sort:  

Is just curious that they want to be autonomous and anarchist, yet they use the government imposed currency.

I'm curious to know about taxation in the community - are the community still liable to pay this?

It seems they still use bank accounts (if they are using VISA) so then not so autonomous.

I have so many questions! Thank you for posting about this, I had never heard about it before.

This was my first thought as well. Reliance on government backed fiat does not make for economic freedom, let alone freedom from the shackles of political oppression, since the two are definitely intertwined. At the very minimum I would have expected to see some form of cyrpto currency adoption. At least, the FSP in new Hampshire, albeit significantly larger in numbers does freely advocate BTC and agora business models.

Yes! So essentially, it's just a separate place to live, with their own set of rules.

After I read Mark's post, I did a bit of research and spoke to a friend who lives there. I think the concept sounds great - it's important to take a stand, but I think it also has many holes.

I came to the conclusion that it is very difficult to escape the banking system, and that one can be autonomous without being part of such a community.

Yes you would think that a crypto would be in circulation or some sort of trading tool.

I'm sure it is, but not to the extent one would expect in an anarchist community

Why do you think that it, it’s not hard to implement ?

Perhaps it is too easy to stick to what one knows? I have no idea. What are your thoughts?

This is why in a macro sense economic>politics as money defines the policies and laws in place that enable a collective society to function. If you get a chance, look up The Valorian Society. They had published some interesting works based around individual sovereignty and wrote on the subject several decades ago. It is eerie how they envisioned, especially the book, Word Controlled Humans.

Thank you. I will check it out