Childhood Lie

in #freedomtribe5 years ago (edited)

6E622C85-1365-4883-98E3-E41021573EB8.jpeg



My entry to Freedom Tribe's TRUTH Challenge - Big Steem Prizes to be Won!! Check post Here for more info.

The question to answer in your entry post is simple:

Tell us about a powerful truth, or a terrible lie.

Art, poetry, video and out-of-the-box answers encouraged.

Childhood Lie



Punishment in my childhood was rather severe compared to today’s standards. It was a physical beating sometimes with a stick/branch from a tree. The stick would be one you were told to cut yourself and bring back to a parent to be used for your punishment. Mistakingly, I would look for the thinnest stick or branch from a tree. That thin switch could really sting across the back of the legs.

The point is, because of this harsh punishment, I would sometimes lie if I got in trouble. The one lie I remember distinctly took place, when I was about eleven years old, over an incident at my grandmother’s house.

My uncle who also lived there had a small rack on a stand beside the radio that held his smoking pipes. My cousin and I were alone in the house and I suggested we smoke one of the pipes. Yes, it was me always getting in trouble and bringing my cousin along with me.

Bobby and I filled the pipe with tobacco and light it. We took a few puffs, coughing and hacking. Then we spied our uncle walking on the road towards the house.

I grabbed the pipe and tapped it against the doorstep thinking this would knock the tobacco out of it and no one would be the wiser that we had smoked it.

Well, the tapping did knock the tobacco out but also broke the pipe. Bobby looked terrified.

”You better hid it as Uncle Sam will be furious at us!

I ran to the vegetable garden and buried it in the soil. All this was done before Uncle Sam reached the house. After the burial, I hightailed it home which was half a mile from my grandmother’s house. Looking back I left my cousin to deal with any fallout. Bobby lived with my grandmother and Uncle Sam.

My grandmother’s house was always a welcome refuge and I went back the next day. I was questioned by Uncle Sam as soon as I got in the door. His favorite pipe was missing and he wanted to know if I had anything to do with it.

”No, I don’t know anything about your pipe.

I vehemently denied having any knowledge of his pipe.

Who planted it in the garden, if you didn’t, Joanna?*

I was still denying anything to do with the pipe when he finally told me I might as well give it up as Bobby had told him what happened.

Apparently when Uncle Sam walked into the house he could smell the pipe smoke and immediately went to his pipe rack and spotted the empty spot. It didn’t take long to get the truth out of Bobby.

I got a lecture from Uncle Sam about using other people’s property and the sin of telling lies.

Luckily for me, I was spared any punishment. Neither my grandmother or Uncle Sam told my parents about my involvement with the broken pipe or my lie.
2C252228-E887-4AF0-ABFC-540660A9CC58.jpeg


Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance


PHC-Footer-05.gif


64E124ED-E71A-4088-9788-0E836FBC0236.jpeg

Sort:  

@redheadpei I took my older brothers pipe and his tobacco, then me and my younger brother got in our rowboat, rowed to the middle of what we called the muddy water we packed the pipe full of tobacco and lit it. We coughed like crazy. It was not tobacco, we did not know what it was but found out later it was weed.

That’s funny @myjob. At the time, I puffed on my uncle’s pipe, weed wasn’t common then or my cuz and I would probably have tried it too. 😂

@redheadpei We were so young we did not know what it was but we saw our brother smoking it and saw where he hid it.

Kids don’t miss much.
Cannabis is legal here to buy in Canada at specific stores set up for that...with certain restrictions about where to use it. It was a big hoopla at first, now no one talks about it.
A couple people I know take the liquid kind for pain.

@edheadpei I bought the oil and it did help with the spasms but did not help with the back pain. I only tried it 2 times it is expensive 11 dollars for one dose.

Oh gosh. Must have been a fun row home.

Posted using Partiko Android

@riverflows indeed it was, we were to young to know we were high. lol

Good story. I had to do the same thing, go out in the yard and pick my own switch. And I tried to pull the same trick too, pick a skinny weak switch. If if was too frail, my dad would go get his own. Ouch.

Not good memories to go and get that switch, @blueeyes. I don’t think the punishment fit our little crimes. Parents would be charged with child abuse if that went on today.

Oh my gosh. I cant believe people do this!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! You got lucky on that one! Did his talk do any good?

Probably in one ear and out the other, Cowboy. 😂

lol..probably. I'm sure it wasn't the last time you broke the rules and got into trouble!

THANK YOU for entering @freedomtribe's TRUTH challenge.

Your grandmother and your uncle sam both sound like very cool people! :)Resteemed.

Good luck with your entry!!

If you haven't already delegated to @freedomtribe, please consider joining us and receiving regular support for content around our 5 curated tags of #freedom #truth #life #love #happiness

Join us on the Freedom Tribe Discord to learn more!

freedom_banner2.jpg

Oh gosh I was only telling Dad yesterday how two memorable moments from my childhood were when I scratched onenof his vinyl records and put a ding on his surfboard and hoped like hell he didnt notice. He laughed. 40 years on those things dont matter much. Strict parents can make better liars! Dad never hit me though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @riverflows and thanks for the visit. 😊
For sure a child will lie to avoid a whooping. I’m glad your Dad didn’t hit you. It really is something you never forget and it builds bad feelings towards your parents.. It was my mother who was the stricter one.

What a clear memory you have of this incident! You've been carrying this around for so long, perhaps now you may place it in the bin of "mistakes made while very young". We all do something like this in our youths. And with a whipping as possible punishment, I can see why you would try to hide it!
Very well told - you have a gift! Thanks!

Thanks dear @owasco. Yes, I can put that incident in the bin.
Appreciate your kind comments. 😊

It's so sad, how in this indirect way children are taught to lie and cheat. I suppose (though I can't know, after all it depends on the person...) that if you had been beaten for your lie, you would have only figured out how to avoid being caught the next time, coming up with smarter, more deceptive lies.

Thanks for stopping by @stortebeker. It was hard to get away with anything in a small village. 😊