You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The World is Not a Box

in #freedomtribe5 years ago

Very nicely done @mimismartypants! And you have even found a contest into which this post can be entered. Very good. I hope you are successful with your entry, in winning the prize!! 😊 I think the song you found to represent your answer was particularly effective. It may interest you to know I took the time to sit down with my beloved life mate and play it for her …

I admire your willingness to attempt to answer my difficult question. As we’ve been saying to each other, discussing these sorts of topics are often frowned upon. But, being the uhhh … “contrarians” that we are, we’re going ahead anyway. 😉 So … Let’s go a little deeper …

From what you have written, I have extracted what stands out to me …

”To begin the attitude of judging others regardless of their religion or beliefs is not taught in Islam. In fact its not a habit any person with a good heart will teach or practice.”

”People might seem violent, but are they really. Others might seem peaceful and silent but are their intentions pure? We don't know what are in any individuals hearts, so how can we judge them.“

… as both tie-in to the key read I read into your response – judgment. You are honest in acknowledging ”we are bound to pass judgment” while wise enough to also say “we don't know what lies in the hearts of individuals nor the demons they struggle with” and so best to avoid passing judgment … I agree with this. In our (from my perspective at least …) increasingly more “polarized” world today however, how common is this view? We may not agree on the answer …

I could write my own post in a full response, but for now I will let you know I am a devout Christian man. A generation older than you @mimismartypants, from what I gather in what you have written. From what I have read and understand, our respective religions share in common a tie back to Abraham, of the Old Testament of our Bible. And we share in common a monotheistic view of God, which is distinctive amongst the world’s religions.

From this common base, our faiths diverge from there … The Muslim religion traces its “legitimacy” (better word?) to Abraham’s first-born son, Ishmael. The Judeo-Christian world traces its “legitimacy” to Abraham’s second-born son, Isaac. So … This is my two-part follow-up question: 1) Do you agree with this and, 2) If so (if not, then never mind! 😉), then how do you view this difference, i.e. what does it represent in our differing systems of belief?

Take your time. Let me know if this “conversation” is still okay. And please feel free to ask me questions of your own. My experience in life (an “old war horse” … 😉) tells me communication with good intentions will still not necessarily result in reaching consensus agreement. Certainly not on a topic so foundational as differing systems of belief. But … They should result in a closing of the gap of misunderstanding, if well intended …

Until I hear from you again, I hope all is well in your world with you and your little princess. Fully supported and resteemed. 👍

Sort:  

Lol another mouthfull!! I'm glad you enjoyed the read though. I also gone back to read up about your posts and gathered your religious stance. Both sons of Abraham (Ebrahim in Arabic) were key players in spreading the work of God. Ishmael (Ismail) and Isaac (Isghaak). Just as the Old Testament tells of their struggles with their people to spread the word of God, so does the Quraan.

100% agree though. That's why it's Called a discussion. We are not sheep. We can have different opinions 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay @mimismartypants ...

"Both sons of Abraham (Ebrahim in Arabic) were key players in spreading the work of God."

... then this response tells me I am misinformed about this aspect of your faith, so good to know. That is, you are indicating Islam views both sons of Abraham the same ... As you may or may not know, Christianity definitely and clearly makes a distinction between the two ...