Terrible Lies of Childhood

My response to freedomtribe's truth challenge. Really love this one. It brought up a lot for me on a topic I think about a lot.

There are many terrible lies in our world right now. I mean, how do we even pick from the vast mound of garbage we are fed? I want to focus on the multitude of lies we tell about children and parenting. Lies about birth, babies, their needs, and motivations. Then the load of awful parenting advice to leave babies to cry, to punish toddlers viciously, to force them to go against their natural instincts, to shove unnecessary crap in their mouths and brains. Then the tragedy that is modern education. It's hard to even know where to start. It's just all wrong. It doesn't follow anything we know about how kids learn or even how to maintain basic psychological health. Then somehow it's all the kid's fault when they have no clue how to manage their lives after being told what to do every minute of every day for 18 solid years.

There are lies all along. How birth happens isn't important. Babies don't need to have their mothers. Motherhood isn't valuable. Babies are manipulative. It's more important to work. Parenting is just a side gig. You have to send your kid to preschool, school, after school, and a hundred athletic and extra curricular activities or else they'll be a failure. No time for play. Kids are dumb and irresponsible. You gotta ride their ass all the time. A good education equals a good job. Hard work results in success. And of course: this generation is so … (lazy, stupid, irresponsible, etc.).

High time we value parenting and children, don't you think?!

The Lies of Childhood

Big breath
Unbearable pain
Where's the sweet rhythm? The water? The sweet voice?
Cold, strange, loud voices
Poking, prodding

Where's the sweet, warm milk?
Where's the one with the milk?
What's a schedule?
Why don't they come when I cry?
Why are there all these other screaming ones?
Where's their milk?
What is work?
What is manipulating?
I'm so cold, lonely, hungry.

Why is he hurting me?
He doesn't like my picture on the wall.
Why do I have to be still?
Why do I have to eat things I don't like?
Why do I have to go to school?
Why can't I just play?
Why am I stuck inside all the time?

Why can't I learn what I want?
Why are my passions not important?
Why is art pointless?
Why are the things I like a waste of time?
Why do I have to be with mean kids?
Why do I have to get up so early?
Why doesn't anyone listen to me?
Why aren't my ideas valid?
Why does my voice go unheard?
Why does no one respect me?
Why doesn't anyone trust me?

Weight training
School
Debate club
Swim practice
Karate
Quick dinner
Homework, homework, homework
Four hours sleep
Exhausted, anxious, depressed, disinterested
Robotic

Breathless.
More pain.
Deeper pain.
Lost. Alone.
Tomorrow I'm on my own
Bags are packed
But I know nothing
About who I am
Or what I want
Or how to express myself
Or trust
Or find my own way
Or communicate
Or pay my bills
Or cook
Or change a tire
Or stay out of debt
I'm such a failure.

All pics from pixabay.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for this touching post, that actually brought tears to my eyes. It is incredible, how far we've come as a society, away from our natural instincts. And it's only getting worse. The most horrible part, however, is how you are treated if you try to point out the obvious, by those who clearly have bought all the lies, lock stock and barrel. For this reason I think it's so important to say what you said in this post. Please keep on speaking what you believe is true.

Thank you so much!! I'm so glad it touched your heart. I'm definitely passionate about this topic. I will never stop speaking! It is very frustrating when people refuse to open their eyes. It is frustrating they get so hostile. Most people can't admit they have damaged their children or have been damaged by their parents, but the truth is that we all damage our children. None of us are perfect, and we're all doing our best, but I'd hope we all want to do better.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well if I wasn't already depressed I am now. Ugh. I am a teacher and I hate the system I am in that forces particular 'lessons' on them. I do hope I can be one kindness to one kid in a week though... makes a difference I expect.

I don't doubt you are a blessing to many of the kids you teach. You're so kind and compassionate. There are many good teachers out there in a system they don't like and know doesn't work well.

Posted using Partiko Android

you nailed this, that poem is so powerful and true. We have been misled for so long, what a way to disempower folk by getting the parents to start with their own kids xxx

Thanks, Mama. As you know, this stuff just bugs me to no end. I hate the way children are treated.

Posted using Partiko Android

THANK YOU for entering @freedomtribe's TRUTH challenge.

Why does my voice go unheard? Not anymore, it would seem - thank you for giving a voice. Resteemed.

Good luck with your entry!!

If you haven't already delegated to @freedomtribe, please consider joining us and receiving regular support for content around our 5 curated tags of #freedom #truth #life #love #happiness

Join us on the Freedom Tribe Discord to learn more!

freedom_banner2.jpg

This is why I value my Waldorf education. Up until the school year that you turn 7 you learn purely through play. The UKs government education regulator, Ofsted, is labeling this as inadequate, because they feel literacy should be formally taught sooner. [My old school has just been closed due to not being able to meet their regulations.](https://steemit.com/education/@life-relearnt/could-we-be-saying-farewell-to-waldorf-education

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm really concerned about the trend of shutting down alternative and home schools. It's very frightening.

Posted using Partiko Android

Such a powerful insight. Yes, the web of lies suffocating the innocence and possibility of childhood are overwhelming. Depressing but they need to be named. Perhaps even more importantly we need to unpick the "why" behind the need for their creation and perpetuation.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

For sure. It's simply the easiest way to control people. So much easier to train people from early than retrain them later. It's super nefarious. Controlling parents by threatening to take their children is also super nefarious but an excellent means of control.

Posted using Partiko Android