5-Minute FreeWrite: "Crystal Meth"

in #freewrite4 years ago

sugar-1500982_640.jpg

This is my entry to @mariannewest's 5-Minute FreeWrite Daily Prompt: spoon on fire, which can be found on this link: https://hive.blog/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-907-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-spoon-on-fire.


I was 10 years old when I first witnessed people doing drugs, which looked like either crystalline powder or crystalline rock. I didn't know back then what it was, that it was really bad and it was illegal. I thought it was just another way of smoking cigarettes.

These people used paraphernalias, such as aluminium foil rolled into a very tiny straw, a spoon, a rectangular size of aluminium foil about maybe 3-5 inches long which has a crease in the middle, and a lighter.

They would put that crystal powder or rock on top of the rectangular foil and a lighter underneath it to melt the substance. They each woud take a "hit" or turn to smoke it, until all of the melted substance was gone and inhaled using their "tooter".

Sometimes, they also used a metal spoon instead of the foil. They would then put the spoon on fire to melt the crystal, and with the same tooter, they'd suck the smoke coming out from the melted substance.

I saw how the person, whom I loved so dearly, that is my mother, got hooked on these drugs which eventually destroyed our family. It is just one of the reasons why I never succumbed to drug addiction even when my parents separated. It was a difficult phase - the adolescent stage - where I started to realise and accept that our family would never be whole and would never be the same again.

Image Source

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for sharing your story and how drugs destroyed your family @evlachsblog, I am glad that you never got addicted, keep going strong, it's awesome.



Made in Canva


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Highlights in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today's Awesome Daily Curation report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source

Thank you. I have never touched it nor have I wanted to even try it. I saw how drugs had destroyed my family and so I promised to myself I would never go down that road.

Thanks @evlachsblog, and that is great to hear, stay awesome.

Glad to read @evlachsblog ...

"It is just one of the reasons why I never succumbed to drug addiction even when my parents separated."

... that our Lord kept you from falling into bondage. Coming from a broken home myself, I know the pain of children dealing with the loss of what they should never have to question - the security and sanctuary of a close and loving family.

If you have written an introductory post of any kind, I would welcome a link to it.

Here are some of the posts that I submitted two years ago:

My Spiritual Journey: Road to Discipleship
When God Turned my Messy Life into a Message
The Balanced Wheel of Life: Building Life Towards Destiny
Children are Precious in God's Eyes

I thank God for my father because despite what happened to our family, he still managed to raise us well and teach us to forgive and love our mother. He brought us up to know who Jesus is and with Him, nothing is impossible. We always prayed that our mother would be delivered from her drug addiction. She was finally freed from that bondage 10 years ago. and I pray that she will never fall into that trap again (I always say that).