5-Minute Freewrite: Delicate Manner

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

John has this chills and shivers in his heart everytime he sees fire. He remembers vividly how a fire burnt down the florist shop which was the livelihood of him and his father. He was there, but he did nothing to save him.

Worse still, it has been a trauma that had made John who he is today -cold, harsh and defensive.

He trusts no one, even though he is now owning one of the biggest florist chain in the region. He feels many are all out to take him down. He had to protect and defend his empire with all his might.

image
Image Source

His assistant, Silas knew this very well and stood by him, knowing his past has shaped him to not be his real self. He knows for John to overcome this psychological block, it needs to be handled in a very delicate manner. But he knows, since that day when Chloe appeared, things have started to change. Though John looks super irritated by her, he knows this girl is different from the rest. She could be just the right person to unlock John's heart. She is brave and straightforward, even though she is an employee. It is already a widely known thing that Chloe is crushing on John. She announced it on the first day she came in to work which is why John is so irritated by her.

She chases after him and showers him with warmth that he had never experienced before. She is like a sunshine that no matter how you try to cover her up, she just comes back shining.

"I have told you it is impossible between us. Quit wasting your time and stay away from me!" John said that to her.

Chloe is just not giving up. She still admires him since the day she saw him in the florist shop, doing up that bouquet for her as a demonstration to the training class. She vowed to herself she is going after him once she joins the company.

One day, John was staying back alone for some paper work when suddenly a fire happened in the pantry because of a short circuited wire. He came out and in his horror, he saw he was trapped again in the very thing he has been so traumatized by. He froze on the spot. The fire got bigger and he was still standing there, as if his feet were rooted to the ground. All his childhood memories flashed back. His dad abandoned him in the fire and he was feeling as helpless as before. He was shivering but he just could not move.

Just then, Chloe came in, she has always been waiting outside his office building every night to see him leave from work. Tonight, he took much longer time and she saw fire! But why was he sitting on the floor like a statue?? Was he crying like a baby?


My 5-minute timer rang here. But I guess I'm writing on the story this time, sorry! At least, we know where the story should have ended.


"Let's go, John! We have to go!"

"He.... He left me there and he went away.... " John was sobbing emotionally.

"Who? Who left you? We cannot talk now. We have to go!" Chloe was trying to hear him and yet she knew that's not the time to talk, if they didn't want to die.

"It's my dad. It's my dad!!! He left me in the fire!" John was like totally not himself at that moment.

"Okay, it's over in the past. I'm here. I'm here with you, " Chloe's heart swelled. Her heart immediately went out to him and she hugged him, comforting him in her embrace. "Everything is going to be alright, I'm not leaving you, " she said those words repeatedly. She knew he was very delicate at that moment and she wanted to make him feel safe.

image
Image Source

John heard that and somehow those words sent great assurance into him. It was like a heart that was broken for years was starting to get mended. Chloe knew they could not delay too long. The fire was spreading. She quickly made some calls when he was better. Then, she grabbed the nearest fire extinguisher to put the fire out. Silas came with some colleagues after he got Chloe's call. John who regained his "consciousness" helped her out too. When they saw the fire engines arrived, they dashed out of the building.

"That's so close, boss! Are you alright?"Silas quickly checked on John. John nodded but he was looking at Chloe. He knew he wouldn't have made it without her. As annoying as she used to be for interfering with his matters as usual, this time she saved his life because of her busybody attitude of wanting to always stay near to him.

He walked over to her and thanked her. She was so delighted that she hugged him on the spot, with her usual bright vibrant smile. Finally she knew what's underneath this iceberg - a traumatized boy who was overwhelmed by fear. "I'm going to love him in a delicate manner, " she thought to herself.

This time, John did not resist. He knew at that moment, she is different, she helped him to overcome his worst trauma and she chose to be in a dangerous situation with him, not leaving him like his dad did. John was starting to feel a very strange feeling for her. She may have just melted his cold defensive heart and given him the very therapy he has been needing all this while.

image
Image Source


Okay, I have to come clean. I have been watching a Chinese drama recently and I'm very much influenced by it, haha. So, I was doing freewrite and this story just kept coming to me. I improvised on the story, because that story is just too long. In case you don't know, I love my drama so much that I really think of them all day long. I used to write them in a book, covering as much details as I could to ensure I don't forget my favorite dramas, before I became a mom.

Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.


RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png


Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png


Sort:  

Oh how I love happy endings! Especially when the person truly deserves it! aahhh! I'm glad Chloe stood her ground and didn't give up on him! He truly needed someone to stand by him and show they wouldn't abandon him. Great story! I'm headed to check out the others! hehe!

Hahaha glad you enjoyed the story. You have been such a great supporter when I am so amateur in my writing. Thanks a lot, @squirrellyma 💖

A very realistic story hon! Great work as usual @happycrazycon :)

Really? You are too kind. I felt I'm too caught up in those Chinese lovey soap drama that I thought I wrote something too far fetched from reality :P thanks much @jaynie!

nah, what I mean is precisely what you just said "it sucks you in" - captivates you, if you will... and when a story does that - ANYTHING can be real ;)

Wow I shall remember that, @jaynie. I was told to keep my "poison" down because I can get too absorbed into it :P LOL. But yes, anything can be real!

pfffft to that ;) hehe

Hahaha.... awwww, you're just a romantic... 😊 ...and love happy endings... lol! Just like me!! Hehehe... Thank you... I enjoyed the story very much!

Hahahaha I am a romantic when it comes to drama! That's why I cannot watch Korean drama, I sink into the poison too much :P YES i love happy endings and I usually check out the ending before I decide to watch the whole drama or not. I just cannot!! Hahaha and I find someone like me, YOU, @ackhoo!!! I was too embarrassed to admit at first hahaha.

You did really well. I love this. More of this please.

Awww... Thank you very much. It was the drama I watched being stucked in my mind :P thank you for swinging by, @michellpiala!

This is not freewrite... This is a wortful write up and a fabulous build up of the story.

Hahah thank you for the compliments @steemflow.

Lovely story. I might hook up to this ;)

Hahah I am watching too much drama :P Thanks for coming by @sherylneil :) Hope you are well!

A little story of pure love. Romantic! tip!

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community

Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

Today we remind you of this fantastic initiative:

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite


presents%20(4).png

Wow thanks so much @marcoriccardi!! That's so kind of you! Thank you for delivering the prompt for today as well to my doorstep :)

Ahaha. It totally reads like a drama! Down to the part where she takes the time to talk to him before she gets to the fire extinguisher yet there is just enough time for them to get out.

He’s super rich and she’s super good looking right?

Hahahahhahahahahahahha I almost laughed out loud at your reply @metzli. I was thinking about that part too, and tried to make it realistic but just couldn't. YES, they are very good looking, cos it's me dwelling in my Chinese drama, oops!

I love sweet romantic story like this. At 1st I thought you are going to do 3 prompts into one. There's sunshine there as well. And 'quit' as well.

Oh how I MISS Chinese drama.

OKAY I know John and Chloe will get married hehehee

Thanks for another amazing story. :)

Hahaha I didn't notice I involved several prompts :P This was just me getting a drama out of my head lol. Thank you for always visiting @iamjadeline :)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness