Beast | 5-minute Freewrite (Fiction)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I stared into the mirror. And I saw a handsome gentleman. It didn't make sense at all. How could a gentleman such as him torture and abuse his wife? The reflection in the mirror should be a beast. Not this one. Not this gentle pleasant look. It did not tally with his anger and rage.

image
Image taken by Fares Hamouche at unsplash.com

He used to be the same gentle pleasant-looking boy when young. Unfortunately, his parents died due to catastrophe which landed him in a big turn of his life. After being adopted by a rich family, he suffered abuse both physically and verbally from his stepmother. It did not just leave a big scar in his emotion but it changed him into someone he did not want to be - controlled by anger and unforgiveness.

I turned around scanning my house. It was in a huge mess. Table and chairs overturned. Thanksgiving meals were on the floor. Mirror and plates shattered. All was done by my uncontrollable rage. My wife was on the floor weeping, holding tight to our 3-year-old who was crying out of fear.

My knee gave way and I dropped down, weeping.

"I love you, honey. Forgive yourself. Forgive your stepparents. We can get help. You will be fine. We will be fine. I am with you."

I heard this soft voice from my wife. She had endured much from my beasty nature. Yet, she was still the same her since we got married. Supportive and understanding.

It is time for newness. I must meet the counsellor. 2019 will be the year I turn over a new leaf, for my family, for myself.

iw3z5idqf5.png

image

iw3z5idqf5.png

This is another 5-minute freewrite using daily prompt by @mariannewest. You can check her out. If you want to know more about 5-minute freewrite, here is the introduction post: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/writers-or-wanna-be-writers-wanted-be-free-freewrite

Feel free to join us as well at the @freewritehouse

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505 (1).png


SB_new.png


20180516_002249_0001.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

banner_moonbot.png

Sort:  

lovely article and beautiful writing :))

Thank you :)

Hi

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Hello there...

Love your fiction mindset, you definitely got what it takes to write up these stories :D

Oh my, these words are so timely. Honestly, I am not so good in fiction. Learning. I write more naturally in life stuff. ☺️ Thank you for the uplifting words.

Fictionally mysterious kinda feelssss!

This is a highly engaging story :) A very nice writing!

Thank you @eugelys. Loving your voice.

Thanks @iamjadeline!❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Blessing to have met his wife... Hope they will get help and live happily ever after.

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 401: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: hotel.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for lovely prompt delivery @elizacheng. You are the sweetest postwoman. 🌈

🤗🤗🤗😘😘😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. It always throws me when the sweet Jadeline writes such powerful violent stuff!! You rock!!

Hi @iamjadeline!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.709 which ranks you at #5082 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 181 places in the last three days (old rank 5263).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 290 contributions, your post is ranked at #156.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You've been featured in this week's Freewrite Favorites Check it out and find other great freewriters to read and support as well.

As always, keep writing! You're doing great!

FreewriteFavorites-green-300.png

Excellent #freewrite, you deserve a mention this week. 👍👍