Bored Stiff - 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

This is a freewriting post and comes with a health warning - it could be rubbish!

A slow mechanical tick. A useless mechanism that is outdated, that is surpassed by the technology of today. Why do clocks even exist anymore?

When will this shift end he thought? Pointless hours sat at a desk. Pointless hours working a job that is of no interest. If only I had concentrated more…

Never mind. Best to make good use of the time. Bring myself to a different place. Where can I go? Another country? No, not exotic enough. Space? Mars could be good. A freezing red planet of dust. Is it freezing? Maybe it is hot.

Further afield, perhaps in to deep space. Is it real? Who is to say that it is not a simulation? Those quasars and black holes. The science is not understood, to say the least. I was wondering, perhaps it is all simulated though? Perhaps we are just part of a computer programme. The statistics suggest that it is more likely than not likely. Delving deep in to the numbers, deep in to space, you have to wonder, is that black hole really, real?

Look at the clock. Shifts over.

Sort:  

Very good, very good, Yay!!! Thanks for playing! improv took us to France and you to outer space. Love it!!

That's very generous, thank you. It also took us to your garden!

Yay for freedom from self-censorship!

Congratulations @kcoyote! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi! Apologies, I was away for a long time. I shall try to post more! I did try a free write today. I see it is very popular now, as I knew it would be!

No apologies necessary. Glad you are back to play :)

Hello. Hope you are well. I will post more prompt and will start again if you decide to participate again. Take care: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-7-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-i-saw-a-wild-pig-running-down-the-street

I really enjoyed reading this. I wish I could write fiction. Maybe one day. For now, I'm stuck on planet Earth, haha.